Legal Services

The Legal Services Division provides the following expert legal services to members of the General Assembly in an objective nonpartisan manner.

  • Bill and amendment drafting
  • Legal and legislative research
  • Official Iowa law publications
  • Standing committee staffing
  • Legislative Council, statutory, and interim study committee staffing

Bill drafting services are also provided to state agencies, the judicial branch, and the Governor. Division staff is precluded by statute from making public policy recommendations.

The division includes the Publications Editing Office.

Director Legislative Services Agency

Tim McDermott
Phone: 515.281.3566
Fax: 515.281.8027

Division Director Legal Services

Timothy McDermott
Phone: 515.281.8090
Fax: 515.281.8027

Iowa Code Editor Legal Services

Leslie Hickey
Phone: 515.281.8871
Fax: 515.281.8027

Administrative Code Editor Legal Services

Jack Ewing
Phone: 515.281.6048
Fax: 515.281.8027