House Resolution 17 - Introduced

An Act 1to recognize and congratulate the women’s
2basketball team of Clarke University in Dubuque for
3their 2023 National Association of Intercollegiate
4Athletics championship.
5WHEREAS, the Clarke University women’s basketball
6team (the Pride) had a 19-3 conference record and a
733-4 overall record, entered the National Association
8of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) tournament as a
9number two seed, and hosted first-round games;and
10WHEREAS, the Pride began the NAIA tournament with
11the Pride’s first ever win in a quarterfinal match
12by defeating the number one seed Campbellsville
14WHEREAS, the Pride continued its winning streak
15to the championship match at the Tyson Events
16Center in Sioux City, Iowa, where they paired off
17against the number one ranked and defending national
18champions, Thomas More University from Crestview Hills,
20WHEREAS, on March 18, 2023, after a hard-fought
21game, the Pride defeated Thomas More University 63-52
22for the Pride’s first ever national athletic title;and
23WHEREAS, the Pride won all six of their tournament
24games by an average of 11.5 points per game, and won
25each of their four games played in Sioux City by double
27WHEREAS, during the NAIA tournament, Skylar
-1-1Culbertson became the program’s all-time leader in
2total assists, finishing with 492, and Tina Ubl became
3the program’s all-time leading scorer with 1,992 points
4to finish her college career;and
5WHEREAS, for her outstanding performance, Tina Ubl
6was named the NAIA tournament Most Valuable Player;and
7WHEREAS, Tina Ubl, Nicole McDermott, and Giana
8Michels were named to the all-tournament teams;and
9WHEREAS, during their regular season, the Pride had
10three players, Emma Kelchen, Nicole McDermott, and
11Giana Michels, reach the 1,000-point club for their
12careers, becoming the 15th, 16th, and 17th players in
13program history to do so;and
14WHEREAS, the Pride led the Heart of America Athletic
15Conference with seven all-conference selections,
16including Tina Ubl (1st team), Nicole McDermott (1st
17team), Skylar Culbertson (2nd team), Emma Kelchen (2nd
18team), Giana Michels (honorable mention), Taylor Haase
19(honorable mention), and Mya Merschman (honorable
21WHEREAS, for her invaluable guidance and leadership
22on and off the court, head coach Courtney Boyd was
23named the NAIA national coach of the year, adding to
24her career portfolio after having led the Kirkwood
25Community College Eagles to a National Junior Athletic
26Association basketball title in 2007;and
27WHEREAS, Coach Boyd hails from Keokuk, and several
28Pride players attended high schools across Iowa,
29including Dubuque, Cascade, Bellevue, Montezuma, and
30Donnellson, attesting to the quality of Iowa education
-2-1and the role of extracurricular activities in the
2personal formation of Iowa’s youth;NOW THEREFORE,
4the House of Representatives congratulates the Clarke
5University women’s basketball team, including players,
6coaches, and support staff on their 2023 NAIA national

   8BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That upon adoption of
9this resolution, the Chief Clerk of the House of
10Representatives shall transmit copies of this
11resolution to the Clarke University women’s basketball
12head coach, Courtney Boyd, athletic director, Curt
13Long, and the president of Clarke University, Fletcher