Representative Dawn E. Pettengill View All Years

Compiled Historical Information
Party Affiliation:
Assemblies Served:
House: 81 (2005) - 87 (2017)
Home County: Benton
Dawn E. Pettengill
Benton County


Serving seventh term in House.




Purdue University, mechanical engineering.

Memberships and Activities

Member of the Optimist Club, Vinton Lions Club, IPERS Investment Board, Department on Aging Commission, Municipal Fire and Police Pension Board, BILLD Fellow of Council of State Governments, American Legislative Exchange Council Commerce Committee (public chair), Council of State Governments BILLD Steering Committee and CSG Suggested State Legislation Committee. Named “Friend of Agriculture” in 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, and 2016. Named “Friend of Small Business” in 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, and 2016. Received the “Defender of Liberty” award in 2012 from American Conservative Union. Established W2L Women to Leadership, Fill the Plate Senior Nutrition Program, and the Mount Auburn Youth Council. Implemented mandatory curbside recycling program in Mount Auburn. Former city councilwoman and mayor of Mount Auburn. Past president of the La Porte City Women’s Club. Past commissioner of the Iowa Department on Aging Commission, Benton County Solid Waste Commission, Benton County Emergency Management Commission, and Benton Economic Development Group. Past executive board director of East Central Iowa Council of Governments. Member of Trinity Episcopal Church.

Birth and Residence

Born in 1955 in Indianapolis, Indiana. Resides in Mount Auburn.

Family Members

Two sons and one grandchild.

Text above from Iowa Official Register/Other
All Biographies