602.6501  Composition of county magistrate appointing commissions.

1.  A magistrate appointing commission is established in each county. The commission shall be composed of the following members:

a.  A district judge designated by the chief judge of the judicial district to serve until a successor is designated.

b.  Three members appointed by the board of supervisors, or the lesser number provided in section 602.6503, subsection 1.

c.  Two attorneys elected by the attorneys in the county, or the lesser number provided in section 602.6504, subsection 1.

2.  The clerk of the district court shall maintain a permanent record of the name, address, and term of office of each commissioner.

3.  A member of a magistrate appointing commission shall be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses reasonably incurred in the performance of official duties. Reimbursements are payable by the county in which the member serves, upon certification of the expenses to the county auditor by the clerk of the district court. The district judges of each judicial district may prescribe rules for the administration of this subsection.

Section History: Recent form

  83 Acts, ch 186, § 7501, 10201; 84 Acts, ch 1219, § 36

Internal References

  Referred to in § 331.424, 602.1303, 602.8102(88)

Previous Section 602.6405

Next Section 602.6502

Return To Home index

© 2001 Cornell College and League of Women Voters of Iowa

Comments about this site or page? webmaster@legis.iowa.gov.
Please remember that the person listed above does not vote on bills. Direct all comments concerning legislation to State Legislators.

Last update: Mon Jan 22 17:13:42 CST 2001
URL: /DOCS/IACODE/2001/602/6501.html