272.3  Membership.

The board of educational examiners consists of eleven members. Two must be members of the general public and the remaining nine must be licensed practitioners. One of the public members shall also be the director of the department of education, or the director's designee. The other public member shall be a person who does not hold a practitioner's license, but has a demonstrated interest in education. The nine practitioners shall be selected from the following areas and specialties of the teaching profession:

1.  Elementary teachers.

2.  Secondary teachers.

3.  Special education or other similar teachers.

4.  Counselors or other special purpose practitioners.

5.  Community college faculty members.

6.  Administrators.

7.  School service personnel.

A majority of the licensed practitioner members shall be nonadministrative practitioners. Four of the members shall be administrators. Membership of the board shall comply with the requirements of sections 69.16 and 69.16A. A quorum of the board shall consist of six members. The director of the department of education shall serve as the chairperson of the board. Members, except for the director of the department of education, shall be appointed by the governor and the appointments are subject to confirmation by the senate.

Section History: Early form

  [C97, § 2634; S13, § 2634-a; SS15, § 2634-a; C24, 27, 31, 35, 39, § 3859; C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, § 260.3]

Section History: Recent form

  85 Acts, ch 212, § 22; 86 Acts, ch 1245, § 1443; 89 Acts, ch 265, § 3

  C93, § 272.3

Previous Section 272.2

Next Section 272.4

Return To Home index

© 1999 Cornell College and League of Women Voters of Iowa

Comments about this site or page? webmaster@legis.iowa.gov.
Please remember that the person listed above does not vote on bills. Direct all comments concerning legislation to State Legislators.

Last update: Thu Mar 18 15:00:31 CST 1999
URL: /DOCS/IACODE/1999/272/3.html