[Dome] Temporary Redistricting Advisory Commission
February 27, 2001Minutes provided by the Legislative Service Bureau


Lance Ehmcke
Joe McCarty
Joseph O'Hern
Linda Primmer
Others in attendance: Diane Bolender, Ed Cook, Gary Rudicil, and Jodi Steenhoek, Legislative Service Bureau; Andy Warren, Senate Republican Caucus Staff; Jason White, House Republican Caucus Staff.


Minutes prepared by Gary Rudicil, Senior Systems Analyst, LSB
Organizational staffing by Diane Bolender, Director, Ed Cook, Legal Counsel, and Gary Rudicil, Senior Computer Systems Analyst

  1. Procedural Business.
  2. Selection of Fifth Member of Commission.
  3. Materials Distributed to the Commission.

I. Procedural Business.

Call to Order. The second meeting of the Temporary Redistricting Advisory Commission was called to order by Mr. Lance Ehmcke, Temporary Chairperson, at 10:07 a.m., Tuesday, February 27, 2001. All Commission members participated by telephone conference call. Legislative Service Bureau staff participated in the conference call from Committee Room 116 of the State Capitol.

Minutes of February 19, 2001. Ms. Primmer moved that the minutes of the February 19, 2001, meeting be approved as submitted. There being no additions or corrections, the motion was adopted by voice vote.

Next Meeting Date. The Commission agreed to meet at 11:00 a.m., Friday, March 16, 2001, in the State Capitol. The purpose of the meeting is to introduce the chairperson of the Commission and to discuss future duties of the Commission.

Adjournment. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 10:52 a.m.

II. Selection of Fifth Member of Commission.

Temporary Chairperson Ehmcke asked for comments regarding the nominees for the fifth member of the Commission, who also serves as chairperson. Copies of the names of the nominees submitted by Commission members are on file in the Legislative Service Bureau. During the discussion about the nominees that followed, it was stated that the chairperson should bring regional diversity to the Commission, that the chairperson should bring a general sense of fairness to the Commission, and that a legal background for the chairperson could be helpful. Following the general discussion, Temporary Chairperson Ehmcke asked members to suggest the names of acceptable nominees. Each member of the Commission included Mr. Robert P. Malloy, Goldfield, Iowa, on a list of acceptable nominees. Ms. Primmer moved to nominate Mr. Malloy as the fifth member and chairperson of the Commission. After brief discussion regarding Mr. Malloy's political background, legal background, geographic location, and general sense of fairness, Mr. O'Hern seconded the motion. The motion was adopted unanimously by voice vote.

Temporary Chairperson Ehmcke and Mr. Ed Cook, Legal Counsel, Legislative Service Bureau, both agreed to contact Mr. Malloy to inform him of his election to the Commission.

III. Materials Distributed to the Commission.

  1. Minutes of the February 19, 2001, meeting of the Temporary Redistricting Advisory Commission.
  2. Rules of Procedure, approved February 19, 2001.
  3. Notice of Public Meeting.

Return To Home Site index

Comments about this site or page? webmaster@legis.iowa.gov

Please remember that the person listed above does not vote on bills. Direct all comments concerning legislation to State Legislators.

© 1995 Cornell College and League of Women Voters of Iowa

Last update: 19-Mar-2001 09:45 AM