175A.2  Grape and wine development commission.

1.  A grape and wine development commission is established within the department. The commission shall be composed of the following persons:

a.  The following persons, or their designees, who shall serve as nonvoting, ex officio members:

(1)  The secretary of agriculture.

(2)  The dean of the college of agriculture of Iowa state university of science and technology.

(3)  The director of the department of economic development.

(4)  The director of the department of natural resources.

b.  The following persons appointed by the secretary of agriculture, who shall serve as voting members:

(1)  Two growers.

(2)  Two winemakers.

(3)  One retail seller.

The secretary of agriculture shall appoint the voting members based on a list of nominations submitted by organizations representing growers, winemakers, and retail sellers as certified by the department according to requirements of the department. Appointments of voting members are subject to the requirements of sections 69.16 and 69.16A. In addition, the appointments shall be geographically balanced. Unless the secretary of agriculture determines that it is not feasible, at least one person appointed as a voting member shall reside in each of the state's congressional districts at the time of appointment. The secretary of agriculture's appointees shall be confirmed by the senate, pursuant to section 2.32.

2.  The voting members shall serve three-year terms beginning and ending as provided in section 69.19. However, the secretary of agriculture shall appoint initial members to serve for less than three years to ensure members serve staggered terms. A member is eligible for reappointment. A vacancy on the commission shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the regular term in the same manner as regular appointments are made.

3.  The commission shall elect a chairperson from among its voting members each year on a rotating basis as provided by the commission. The commission shall meet on a regular basis and at the call of the chairperson or upon the written request to the chairperson of two or more voting members.

4.  Members are not entitled to receive compensation or reimbursement of expenses from the department as otherwise provided in section 7E.6.

5.  Three voting members constitute a quorum and the affirmative vote of a majority of the voting members present is necessary for any substantive action to be taken by the commission. The majority shall not include any member who has a conflict of interest and a statement by a member that the member has a conflict of interest is conclusive for this purpose. A vacancy in the membership does not impair the duties of the commission.

Section History: Recent form

  2001 Acts, ch 162, §3

Internal References

  Referred to in § 175A.1

Previous Section 175A.1

Next Section 175A.3

Return To Home index

© 2002 Cornell College and League of Women Voters of Iowa

Comments about this site or page? webmaster@legis.iowa.gov.
Please remember that the person listed above does not vote on bills. Direct all comments concerning legislation to State Legislators.

Last update: Thu Jan 24 10:51:05 CST 2002