6B.4  Commission to assess damages.

Annually the board of supervisors of a county shall appoint not less than twenty-eight residents of the county and the names of such persons shall be placed on a list and they shall be eligible to serve as members of a compensation commission. One-fourth of the persons appointed shall be owner-operators of agricultural property, one-fourth of the persons appointed shall be owners of city property, one-fourth shall be licensed real estate salespersons or real estate brokers, and one-fourth shall be persons having knowledge of property values in the county by reason of their occupation, such as bankers, auctioneers, property managers, property appraisers, and persons responsible for making loans on property.

The chief judge of the judicial district shall select by lot six persons from the list, two persons who are owner-operators of agricultural property when the property to be condemned is agricultural property; two persons who are owners of city property when the property to be condemned is other than agricultural property; and two persons from each of the remaining two representative groups, who shall constitute a compensation commission to assess the damages to all property to be taken by the applicant and located in the county, and shall name a chairperson from the persons selected. No member of the compensation commission selected shall possess any interest in the proceeding which would cause such person to render a biased decision.

Section History: Early form

  [R60, § 1317, 1318; C73, § 1244, 1245; C97, § 1999, 2029; C24, 27, 31, 35, 39, § 7825; C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, § 472.4]

Section History: Recent form

  C93, § 6B.4

Internal References

  Referred to in § 6B.5, 331.321, 479.46, 479A.25, 479B.30

Previous Section 6B.3

Next Section 6B.5

Return To Home index

© 1999 Cornell College and League of Women Voters of Iowa

Comments about this site or page? webmaster@legis.iowa.gov.
Please remember that the person listed above does not vote on bills. Direct all comments concerning legislation to State Legislators.

Last update: Thu Mar 18 15:00:31 CST 1999
URL: /DOCS/IACODE/1999/6B/4.html