30.2  Iowa emergency response commission established.

1.  The Iowa emergency response commission is established. The commission is responsible directly to the governor. The commission is attached to the department of public defense for routine administrative and support services only.

2.  The commission is composed of twelve members appointed by the governor. One member shall be appointed to represent the department of agriculture and land stewardship, one to represent the department of workforce development, one to represent the department of justice, one to represent the department of natural resources, one to represent the department of public defense, one to represent the Iowa department of public health, one to represent the department of public safety, one to represent the state department of transportation, one to represent the fire service institute of the Iowa state university of science and technology, and one to represent the office of the governor. Two representatives from private industry shall also be appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the senate.

3.  The commission members shall be appointed for staggered terms of three years each, beginning and ending as provided in section 69.19. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments were made.

Section History: Recent form

  89 Acts, ch 204, §3; 96 Acts, ch 1186, §23

Internal References

  Referred to in § 29.1

Previous Section 30.1

Next Section 30.3

Return To Home index

© 1999 Cornell College and League of Women Voters of Iowa

Comments about this site or page? webmaster@legis.iowa.gov.
Please remember that the person listed above does not vote on bills. Direct all comments concerning legislation to State Legislators.

Last update: Thu Mar 18 15:00:31 CST 1999
URL: /DOCS/IACODE/1999/30/2.html