Iowa General Assembly Banner

173.6 Terms of office.

The term of the president and vice president of the board shall be one year. A person shall not hold the office of president for more than three consecutive years, plus any portion of a year in which the person was first elected by the board to fill a vacancy.

A member of the board who is a director, elected as provided in section 173.1, shall serve a term of two years. The term of a director shall begin at noon on the day following the adjournment of the convention at which the director was elected and shall continue until a successor is elected and qualified as provided in this chapter. However, a person elected as a director pursuant to section 173.1 shall not serve for more than five consecutive terms. A director who has ever served five consecutive terms is again eligible to serve for an additional five consecutive terms after not serving as a director for at least one term.

Section History: Early form

[R60, § 1700; C73, § 1104; C97, § 1654; S13, § 1657-e; C24, 27, 31, 35, 39, § 2878; C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, § 173.6]

Section History: Recent form

91 Acts, ch 248, §5

Internal References

Referred to in § 173.5


An original director may serve unlimited number of terms; "original director" defined; 91 Acts, ch 248, §10; 91 Acts, ch 267, §631

Return To Home Iowa General Assembly

index Search: Iowa Code 1997

© 1997 Cornell College and League of Women Voters of Iowa


Last update: Mon Jan 27 16:05:08 CST 1997
URL: /DOCS/IACODE/1997/173/6.html