Iowa General Assembly Banner

173.1 State fair authority.

The Iowa state fair authority is established as a public instrumentality of the state. The authority is not an agency of state government. However, the authority is considered a state agency and its employees state employees for the purposes of chapters 17A, 20, 91B, 97B, 509A, and 669. The authority is established to conduct an annual state fair and exposition on the Iowa state fairgrounds and to conduct other interim events consistent with its rules. The powers of the authority are vested in the Iowa state fair board. The Iowa state fair board consists of the following:

1. The governor of the state, the secretary of agriculture, and the president of the Iowa state university of science and technology or their qualified representatives.

2. Two directors from each congressional district to be elected at a convention as provided in section 173.2.

3. A president and vice president to be elected by the state fair board from the elected directors.

4. A treasurer to be elected by the board who shall serve as a nonvoting member.

5. A secretary to be elected by the board who shall serve as a nonvoting member.

Section History: Early form

[S13, § 1657-c; C24, 27, 31, 35, 39, § 2873; C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, § 173.1; 81 Acts, ch 67, § 1]

Section History: Recent form

86 Acts, ch 1245, § 625, 626; 87 Acts, ch 233, § 225; 91 Acts, ch 248, §1, 2; 95 Acts, ch 13, § 2

Internal References

Referred to in § 99D.13, 173.6

Return To Home Iowa General Assembly

index Search: Iowa Code 1997

© 1997 Cornell College and League of Women Voters of Iowa


Last update: Mon Jan 27 16:05:08 CST 1997
URL: /DOCS/IACODE/1997/173/1.html