Iowa General Assembly Banner

Text: HF02332                           Text: HF02334
Text: HF02300 - HF02399                 Text: HF Index
Bills and Amendments: General Index     Bill History: General Index

House File 2333

Partial Bill History

Bill Text

  1  1    Section 1.  Section 321.266, subsection 2, Code 1995, is
  1  2 amended to read as follows:
  1  3    2.  The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident
  1  4 resulting in injury to or death of any person, or total
  1  5 property damage to an apparent extent of five hundred one
  1  6 thousand dollars or more shall also, within seventy-two hours
  1  7 after the accident, forward a written report of the accident
  1  8 to the department.
  1  9    Sec. 2.  Section 321A.5, subsection 1, Code 1995, is
  1 10 amended to read as follows:
  1 11    1.  The department shall, immediately or within sixty days
  1 12 after the receipt of a report of a motor vehicle accident
  1 13 within this state which has resulted in bodily injury or death
  1 14 or damage to the property of any one person in excess of five
  1 15 hundred one thousand dollars, suspend the license of each
  1 16 operator and all registrations of each owner of a motor
  1 17 vehicle in any manner involved in the accident, and if the
  1 18 operator is a nonresident the privilege of operating a motor
  1 19 vehicle within this state, and if the owner is a nonresident
  1 20 the privilege of the use within this state of any motor
  1 21 vehicle owned by the owner, unless the operator or owner or
  1 22 both shall deposit security in a sum which shall be sufficient
  1 23 in the judgment of the department to satisfy any judgment or
  1 24 judgments for damages resulting from the accident as may be
  1 25 recovered against the operator or owner; provided notice of
  1 26 the suspension shall be sent by the department to the operator
  1 27 and owner not less than ten days prior to the effective date
  1 28 of the suspension and shall state the amount required as
  1 29 security.  
  1 30                           EXPLANATION
  1 31    Current law requires that the driver of a vehicle involved
  1 32 in an accident with property damage of $500 or more must
  1 33 report the accident to the state department of transportation
  1 34 within 72 hours.  In addition, chapter 321A requires the
  1 35 department to suspend the motor vehicle license of the
  2  1 operator and the registration for the motor vehicle, unless
  2  2 the owner or operator provides security for payment of
  2  3 damages.  A person who has insurance which provides coverage
  2  4 for the accident is not required to provide security for
  2  5 damages.
  2  6    This bill raises the minimum accident reporting level and
  2  7 suspension requirement level to $1,000.  
  2  8 LSB 4097HH 76
  2  9 js/sc/14

Text: HF02332                           Text: HF02334
Text: HF02300 - HF02399                 Text: HF Index
Bills and Amendments: General Index     Bill History: General Index

Return To Home Iowa General Assembly

index Search: House Bills and Amendments (76th General Assembly)

© 1996 Cornell College and League of Women Voters of Iowa


Last update: Tue Apr 2 13:32:58 CST 1996
URL: /DOCS/GA/76GA/Legislation/HF/02300/HF02333/960226.html