## RULES OF THE 1969-1971 LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

- 1. Nine members shall constitute a quorum.
- Majority vote of those present is necessary to carry any action, but not less than nine votes in any instance shall be considered a majority except on adjournment or recess.
- 3. Whenever Mason's Manual of Legislative Procedure does not conflict with the rules specifically adopted by the Council, Mason's Manual of Legislative Procedure shall govern the deliberations of the Council.
- 4. Whenever a member is obliged to leave a meeting and desires to register his vote on any question presented at that meeting, he may do so in writing, recording the same with the secretary.
- 5. Meetings shall be set by motion before adjournment, or by call of the Chairman of the Council with the approval of the Vice Chairman if meetings are necessary before the date set in the motion.
- 6. Rules may be changed by a majority vote of the Council as provided in Rule 2.
- 7. The Council upon its motion may create a subcommittee to suggest the membership and chairmen of some or all study committees. The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Council shall be members of such subcommittee. The subcommittee shall include members of both political parties.

In any situation where the preceding sentence does not apply, the Chairman and Vice Chairman shall suggest to the Council the membership and chairman of each study committee authorized.

All appointments suggested to the Council under this Rule shall be approved as provided in Rule 2.

8. The Council may create subcommittees for the purpose of carrying out the duties of the Council and may delegate such authority as the Council may desire to the subcommittees. The actions of the subcommittees shall be reported to the Council at each meeting.

Adopted June 11, 1969

MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Home Phone Numbers)

Senate Members (Senate Journal-May 23-pp. 1933) Chairman: The Honorable Seeley G. Lodwick State Senator Wever Towa 52658 (319-372-3754) The Honorable James E. Briles State Senator 806 Seventh Street Corning, Iowa 50841 (515 - 322 - 4119)The Honorable Andrew G. Frommelt State Senator Box 269, Hickory Hill Dubuque, Iowa 52001 (319-582-1220) The Honorable Eugene M. Hill State Senator R.R. 3 Newton, Iowa 50208 (515-792-1983) Lt. Governor Roger W. Jepsen 2330 Harrison Street Davenport, Iowa 52801 (319-326-2759) The Honorable Elmer F. Lange State Senator 1010 Hillcrest Street Sac City, Iowa 50583 (712 - 662 - 7220)The Honorable Arthur A. Neu State Senator 801 N. Adams Street Carroll, Iowa 51401 (712 - 792 - 4824)

The Honorable George E. O'Malley State Senator 420 Royal Union Building Des Moines, Iowa 50309 (515-243-8157)

The Honorable David Stanley State Senator 814 Iowa Avenue Muscatine, Iowa 52761 (319-263-7203)

House Members (House Journal - May 23 - pp. 1968) Vice Chairman: The Honorable Ralph F. McCartney State Representative R.F.D. 4 Charles City, Iowa 50616 (515 - 228 - 2518)The Honorable Dale M. Cochran State Representative R. 1, Box 109 Eagle Grove, Iowa 50533 (515 - 356 - 4370)The Honorable William J. Gannon State Representative R.R. 1 Mingo, Iowa 50168 (515 - 363 - 4436)The Honorable William H. Harbor Speaker State Representative Henderson, Iowa 51541 (712 - 825 - 3711)The Honorable Charles P. Miller State Representative 801 High Street Burlington, Iowa 52601 (319 - 754 - 8294)The Honorable Leroy S. Miller State Representative 305 W. Clarinda Avenue Shenandoah, Iowa 51601 (712-246-4293) The Honorable Nathan F. Sorg State Representative 1204 Washington Drive Marion, Iowa 52302 (319 - 377 - 1294)The Honorable Andrew Varley State Representative R.R. 2 Stuart, Iowa 50250 (515 - 524 - 4512)