REPORT OF THE SERVICE COMMITTEE TO THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL June 10, 2009

The Service Committee of the Legislative Council met on June 10, 2009, and makes the following report and recommendations to the Legislative Council for approval:

I. PERSONNEL REPORTS

A. The Service Committee received and filed the annual personnel report from the Legislative Services Agency and the Office of Citizens' Aide/Ombudsman. The Service Committee noted that the decision has been made to delay all promotional and merit increases for eligible legislative employees for the fiscal period beginning May 15, 2009, and ending May 14, 2010, and that all future promotions are contingent on budgetary conditions, Legislative Council approval, and are subject to performance review with approval of, and an effective date set by, the applicable director.

B. The Service Committee recommends the establishment of an Administrative Services Officer job series within the Legislative Services Agency and authorization of the Agency to reclassify current employees in the Legislative Document Technician and Legislative Document Specialist job series, and perhaps additional employees, into the new job series.

II. CENTRAL STAFF AGENCY FY 2010 BUDGETS

The Service Committee recommends that the Legislative Council approve the proposed budgets, as reduced, subject to adjustment to reflect carry forwards from the previous fiscal year to all Legislative Branch agencies, for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2009, pursuant to Iowa Code Section 2.12, as submitted by the following agencies:

- Legislative Services Agency
- Office of the Citizens' Aide/Ombudsman

III. APPOINTMENT OF CITIZENS' AIDE/OMBUDSMAN

The Service Committee recommends that the Legislative Council, pursuant to lowa Code Sections 2C.3 and 2C.5, and subject to approval and confirmation by a constitutional majority vote of the Senate and House of Representatives, appoint Mr. William P. Angrick II as Citizens' Aide/Ombudsman for a four-year term commencing July 1, 2009.

Respectfully submitted,

Speaker Patrick J. Murphy Chairperson