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Child Care Timeline

◼ Pre-WWII families relied on other family members for child care

◼ WWII 

◼ Lanham Act of 1940

◼ 1954 first tax deduction for child care expenses

◼ 1971 comprehensive child development act (vetoed)

◼ 1975 Iowa’s first statutory regulation of child care

◼ 1976 child care tax deduction replaced with Child and Dependent Care Tax 
Credit

◼ 1985 Iowa requires background checks for registered child care staff

◼ 1987 Iowa requires periodic inspections of child care centers

◼ 1989 federal child care for military personnel program begins

◼ Late 1980’s-1990 Child Care Development Block Grant (CCDBG) and the At-
Risk Child Care Program are implemented at a federal level
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Child Care Timeline

◼ 1990 Iowa establishes its own child and dependent care tax credit and early 
childhood development tax credit

◼ 1997 federal child tax credit established

◼ 1998 Iowa requires background checks for non-registered providers

◼ 2000 Iowa established the State Child Care Assistance Program

◼ 2006 Iowa implements the Quality Rating System, raises income cap

◼ 2014 Federal government overhauls the CCDBG

◼ 2021 Iowa establishes CCA Exit and child care homes allowed up to 6 children 

◼ 2023 CCA reimbursement rates are in statutory law
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Financing

◼ Child Care Assistance (CCA) is largely funded through 
federal dollars

◼ States have requirements around the percentage and 
use of Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) 
awards

◼ In federal FY 2020, CCDF was approximately $6.9 
billion

◼ For federal grant year 2023, Iowa received 
approximately $103.1 million in federal funds that could 
be used for child care assistance.

◼ Iowa had $73.4 million of federal funding that could be 
used for child care carried forward into state fiscal year 
2023.

◼ For SFY 23-24, Iowa appropriated $47.17 million for 
CCA from TANF funds and $64.22 million from the 
State General Fund.

◼ Iowa expected to increase its surplus of child care 
funds by $34.3 million by the end of FY 2023, for a 
total surplus of $107.7 million
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Eligibility 
Requirements for 
Child Care Assistance
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General Requirements

◼ Each parent, guardian, or custodian is doing one of the following:

◼ Employed

◼ Seeking Employment (limited to hours looking for work and 90 consecutive calendar days)

◼ Attending approved education or training (limited to 24 months per lifetime)

◼ Absent due to hospitalization, illness, or is unable to care for the child (limited to 90 
consecutive days unless otherwise specified)

OR

◼ The child is in need of care to prevent or alleviate abuse or neglect

OR

◼ The child is 13-15 years old and an exception has been made by HHS due to special 
circumstances
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Financial Requirements

◼ A family with a child under 13 years of age who either:

◼ Has a gross annual income of 160% or less of the federal poverty level for the family’s size; 
OR

◼ Has a gross annual income less than 85% of Iowa’s median income (if that number is less 
than 160% of the FPL for the family’s size)

145% FPL = $36,047 per year (single parent w/ two children)

160% FPL = $39,776 per year (single parent w/ two children)

◼ A family with a child below 19 years of age who needs special care who:

◼ Has a gross annual income of 200% of the federal poverty level for the family’s size; OR

◼ Has a gross annual income less than 85% of Iowa’s median income (if that number is less 
than 200% of the FPL for the family’s size)

◼ A family’s total combined assets cannot exceed $1 million.

◼ There are 37 exclusions to income

◼ 5 exceptions to income requirements
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Ongoing Authorization

A family that 
initially qualified 
for CCA must 

reapply for CCA 
every 12 months

Continuing on 
CCA after a 

family’s income is 
more than the 

initial 
authorization 
requirement is 

called CCA Plus

CCA Plus 
continues until a 
family’s income is 
equal to or more 
than 225% of FPL 

for the family’s 
size
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CCA Graduated Eligibility Phase-Out

• *subject to copayments and care providers requesting families to pay the 
difference between CCA reimbursements and the provider’s private pay rate

Families that qualify for CCA will have the state pay* for 
child care until the family’s income reaches 225% of FPL

• ≥225% but <235% of FPL, then the family pays 33% of child care costs

• ≥235% but <245% of FPL, then the family pays 45% of child care costs

• ≥245% but <250% of FPL, then the family pays 60% of child care costs

For regular child care, if income is:

• ≥225% but <245% of FPL, then the family pays 33% of child care costs

• ≥245% but <265% of FPL, then the family pays 45% of child care costs

• ≥265% but <275% of FPL, then the family pays 60% of child care costs

For special needs care, if income is:
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The Case of Jenny Examplton

◼ Jenny is a single mom of a four-year-old and a one-year-old

◼ Jenny makes $2,500/month ($30,000/year)

◼ Jenny’s four-year-old goes to daycare 5 days/week for 8 hours and the one-year-old 4 days/week 
for 8 hours

◼ Conclusion: 

◼ Jenny qualifies for CCA (income > 160% FPL for 3 person family)

◼ Jenny’s copayments = $39.50/week    (3.95 per unit x 5 days per week x 2 units per day)
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Current Child Care 
Climate 
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Families 
Currently 
Served

12

Families in CCA 

( < 160% FPL):

23,578

Families in CCA Plus 
( ≥ 160% but < 225%): 

4,028

Families in CCA Exit 
(≥ 225% but < 250% (or 275% 

for special needs care)):

144



Provider 
Reimbursement 
Criteria
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Child Care Centers:  
A facility that provides 
child care or preschool 

services for any amount* 
of children, except when 
the facility is registered 
as a child development 

home.

Child Development 
Homes (A, B, and C):  
A person or program 
registered to provide 
child care as a child 
development home.

Child Care Homes: 
individual persons 

providing child care from 
their homes, including 
relatives of the child.

Out-of-State Providers: 
Eligible to receive CCA 
reimbursements if the 
entity can verify the 
provider meets all 

requirements to be a 
provider in the state the 

provider is located.
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Reimbursement 
Structure as of March 
1, 2023
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*One half-day unit is 5 hours of child care (reimbursements not prorated)
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Half-Day Rate Ceilings for Child Development Homes (A or B)

No QRS Rating QRS Rating 1 or 2 QRS Rating 3 or 4 QRS Rating 5

Age Group Basic Special 

Needs

Basic Special 

Needs

Basic Special 

Needs

Basic Special 

Needs

Infant and 

Toddler

$14.00 $21.00 $14.00 $21.00 $14.00 $21.00 $15.00 $22.50

Preschool $12.75 $19.13 $13.00 $19.50 $13.75 $20.63 $15.00 $22.50

School Age $11.25 $16.88 $12.50 $18.75 $13.00 $19.50 $13.50 $20.25

Half-Day Rate Ceilings for Licensed Centers

No QRS Rating QRS Rating 1 or 2 QRS Rating 3 or 4 QRS Rating 5

Age Group Basic Special 

Needs

Basic Special 

Needs

Basic Special 

Needs

Basic Special 

Needs

Infant and 

Toddler

$23.21 $51.94 $23.21 $51.94 $23.21 $51.94 $24.05 $51.94

Preschool $18.98 $30.43 $19.50 $30.43 $20.00 $30.43 $21.00 $30.43

School Age $15.00 $30.34 $15.50 $30.34 $16.00 $30.34 $17.00 $30.34
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Half-Day Rate Ceilings for Child Development Homes (C)

No QRS Rating QRS Rating 1 or 2 QRS Rating 3 or 4 QRS Rating 5

Age Group Basic Special 

Needs

Basic Special 

Needs

Basic Special 

Needs

Basic Special 

Needs

Infant and 

Toddler

$15.25 $22.88 $15.25 $22.88 $15.25 $22.88 $16.25 $24.38

Preschool $15.00 $22.50 $15.00 $22.50 $15.00 $22.50 $16.00 $24.00

School Age $13.00 $19.50 $13.75 $20.63 $14.50 $21.75 $15.00 $22.50

Half-Day Rate Ceilings for Child Care 

Homes (Not Registered)

Age Group Basic Special 

Needs

Infant and 

Toddler

$12.98 $19.47

Preschool $12.50 $18.75

School Age $10.82 $16.23

Half-Day Rate Ceilings for In-Home 

Providers (NEW)

Age Group Basic Special 

Needs

Infant and 

Toddler

$36.25 $36.25

Preschool $36.25 $36.25

School Age $36.25 $36.25



Cost of Child Care
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Average Annual Cost in Iowa

◼ Without CCA

◼ $10,378 for infants

◼ $8,633 for 4-year-olds (preschool)

◼ For Reference

◼ $10,964 for 2023-2024 in-state undergraduate tuition at Uni. of Iowa 

◼ $13,956 is the median annual rent in Iowa

◼ $20,364 is the median annual cost of a house with a mortgage 

◼ $65,600 is the median gross income in Iowa 

• Nationally accepted amount of “affordable child care” = 7% of annual 
income

• Preschool care = 13%

• Infant care = 15.8%
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Average Annual Cost Comparison
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21%

13%
66%

Rent and Preschool

Annual Rent

Preschool

Remainder

31%

16%

53%

Mortgage and Infant Care

House with Mortgage

Infant Care

Remainder

Pie Charts show average costs as a percentage of $65,600, the median gross income in Iowa.



Average Annual Cost Comparison
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51%

26%

23%

Mortgage and Infant Care 

(160%)

House with Mortgage

Infant Care

Remainder

36%

19%

45%

Mortgage and Infant Care 

(225%)

House with Mortgage

Infant Care

Remainder

Pie Charts show average costs as a percentage of 160% and 225% of FPL for 3 person family.



Average Annual Cost Comparison
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33%

17%

50%

Mortgage and Infant Care 

(250%)

House with Mortgage

Infant Care

Remainder

30%

15%

55%

Mortgage and Infant Care 

(275%)

House with Mortgage

Infant Care

Remainder

Pie Charts show average costs as a percentage of 250% and 275% of FPL for 3 person family.



2023 Child Care Cost Comparison by State

5 Most Expensive Jurisdictions

◼ District of Columbia $19,214 

◼ Massachusetts $16,781

◼ Washington $13,404

◼ New Jersey $13,367

◼ Connecticut $13,052

5 Least Expensive Jurisdictions

◼ Missouri $7,062

◼ Kentucky $6,841* 

◼ South Dakota $6,677

◼ Arkansas $6,575

◼ Mississippi $5,439**
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*$66,143 median ; 4th lowest unemployment rate

**Lowest median income

Iowa is the 27th most expensive jurisdiction



2023 Child Care Cost as Percentage of State 
Median Income

5 Highest Percentages

◼ District of Columbia 28.6%

◼ California 24.9%

◼ Massachusetts 22.7%

◼ Oregon 22.2%

◼ New York 22.1%

5 Lowest Percentages

◼ North Dakota 12.6%

◼ Kentucky 11.9%

◼ Alabama 11.9%

◼ Mississippi 11.7%

◼ South Dakota 10.2%
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Iowa is the 36th most expensive jurisdiction



Other Related Programs
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Voluntary Preschool Programs

◼ Who is eligible

◼ Generally 4-year-olds, but exceptions allowed

◼ Districts allowed to create additional criteria

◼ How many spots are available:

◼ Determined by teacher-child ratio requirements

◼ Cost to families

◼ 10 hours/week free of charge to enrolled children 

◼ Cost to the state

◼ $81 million in FY 2022
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Recent Changes in 
Child Care
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Legislative Session in Iowa

◼ In the 2022 legislative session in Iowa: 

◼ Child care providers are allowed to collect the difference between the state CCA 
reimbursement rate and the rate the provider charges private parties.

◼ Prohibition on COVID-19 vaccine as a condition for enrollment in child care.

◼ Child care givers who are 16 years old or older may provide child care to school age 
children without additional supervision.

◼ Increasing the amount of 2 and 3 year old children a single caregiver can provide child care 
to at one time. (7 and 10 respectively)

◼ State tax credits for employers who receive a federal tax credit for providing child care to 
employees.

◼ In the 2023 legislative session in Iowa: 

◼ “Child needing special needs care” now defined.

◼ FPL for a family’s initial CCA authorization increased

◼ Employed care givers now need to work 32 hours/week or an average of 32 hours/week 
for the month in order to maintain eligibility if the child does not have special needs 

◼ HHS may no longer adjust reimbursement rates or financial eligibility requirements for 
CCA until a bill passes allowing HHS to do so.
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Legislative Session in Other States

◼ During the 2022 legislative session: 

◼ 26 states passed 80 bills that affect child care subsidies and quality of child care

◼ 16 states passed 34 bills that give early childhood financing

◼ 18 states passed 31 bills related to early childhood governance 

◼ 17 states passed 30 bills relating to prenatal, infant, and toddler wellbeing

◼ 15 states passed 25 bills to begin or improve programs to get children ready for 
kindergarten

◼ 18 states passed 24 bills related to the early child care and education workforce

◼ Common themes in child care across other states: 

◼ Increasing the supply of child care

◼ Reducing the costs of child care

◼ Child care quality control

◼ Assistance for younger children (infants/prenatal) and their families

◼ Changes focused on the childcare workforce
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Example Legislation in Other States

◼ Colorado bill S-213
◼ Grants to employers to establish child care facilities 

◼ California bill A-185
◼ Develops a grant process to establish a universal preschool program

◼ Kentucky bill HB 499
◼ Creates child care system funded by employers and state matching funds

◼ West Virginia bill S-656
◼ Tax credit for employers to provide onsite child care for employees 

◼ 50% for one year and 20% for up to five years after

30



Example Legislation in Other States

◼ Maryland bill H-1100
◼ $1,000 bonus child care provider employees who work at least 20 

hours/week

◼ $1,000 bonus to all new employees who work at least 20 hours/week.  

◼ Paid family and medical leave insurance programs
◼ Delaware and Maryland

• All residents; 12 weeks of paid leave

• Up to 90% pay in Maryland; up to 80% pay in Delaware

◼ South Carolina and Utah
• State employees only; up to six weeks of leave

• 100% pay
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Looking Ahead
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◼ Workforce Concerns
◼ Not enough workers

• Pay/benefit increases alone may not be enough

◼ HHS CCA pilot program

◼ HHS partnership with economic groups

◼ 2024 Market Rate Survey

◼ Proposed rulemaking
◼ Enrollment vs. Attendance 

◼ Prospective vs. Retrospective payments
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For Your Information
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◼ VA child care system
◼ Subsidized on a sliding scale

◼ Median salary of $45,000

◼ Approximately $1 billion/year

◼ Cost of universal childcare in Iowa
◼ All kids 0 through 5 years of age: 

◼ All kids 0 through 5 and special needs 6 through 11: 

◼ Cost of universal childcare in the US
◼ Estimated $70 billion/year

◼ Social security $1.22 trillion

◼ National defense $767 billion

◼ Veterans benefits $274 billion
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$1.034 billion
$1.067 billion



Term 
Reference 
Guide
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ARPA — American Rescue Plan Act

Care provider (or Child Care Provider or Provider) — The facility 
or operation in the business of taking care of children

Caregiver — The individual person taking care of the children 
(whether as an employee or owner/operator of a Care provider)

CCA — Child Care Assistance

FPL — Federal Poverty Level

HHS — Iowa Department of Health and Human Services

IQ4K — Iowa Quality for Kids

MIA — Missing in Action

NGO — Non-governmental organization

Parent — For the purposes of this presentation, a parent, guardian, 
or legal custodian

POW — Prisoner of War

SNAP — Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program

TANF — Temporary Assistance for Needy Families



Questions
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