

Historical Tables of the Iowa Legislature

1846 Iowa Constitutional Convention Members

Iowa's second constitutional convention convened in Iowa City on May 4, 1846.

Iowa's second proposed constitution, adopted in convention on May 18, 1846, and adopted by the voters on August 3, 1846, by a vote of 9,492 to 9,036, was the constitution by which Iowa became a state. The constitution was accepted by Congress and approved by President James K. Polk and Iowa was admitted as the 29th state on December 28, 1846.

Name	Home County
Curtis Bates	Johnson
George Berry	Lee
Samuel A. Bissell	Cedar
George W. Bowie	Des Moines
Wareham G. Clark	Monroe
John Conrey	Iowa
William G. Coop	Jefferson
Thomas Dibble	Van Buren
David Galland	Lee
Stewart Goodrell	Washington
James Grant	Scott
Sanford S. Harned	Keokuk
Henry P. Haun	Clinton
Joseph H. Hedrick	Wapello
George Hobson	Henry
Erastus Hoskins	Van Buren
William Hubbell	Jackson
Josiah Kent	Lee
Shepherd Leffler	Des Moines
Enos Lowe	Des Moines

Name	Home County
Sylvester G. Matson	Jones
Thomas McCraney	Dubuque
Francis K. O'Ferrall	Dubuque
David Olmstead	Clayton
J. Scott Richman	Muscatine
John Ronalds	Louisa
Sulifand S. Ross	Jefferson
Alvin Saunders	Henry
John J. Selman	Davis
Stephen B. Shelledy	Mahaska
William Steele	Van Buren
Socrates H. Tryon	Benton