IAC Ch 50, p.1

191—50.54 (272D) Denial, suspension or revocation of agent or investment adviser representative registration for failure to pay state debt.

50.54(1) Upon receipt of a certificate of noncompliance from the centralized collection unit of the department of revenue (CCU), the administrator shall issue a notice to a securities agent or investment adviser representative applicant or registrant that any pending application for registration will be denied or any current registration will be suspended or revoked 60 days after the date of the notice. The notice shall be served by restricted certified mail, return receipt requested, or by personal service as provided by the Iowa Rules of Civil Procedure, unless the applicant or registrant accepts service personally or through authorized counsel.

50.54(2) The administrator shall provide the applicant or registrant with a copy of the certificate of noncompliance and shall provide a notice advising the applicant that:

- a. The administrator intends to deny an application or to suspend or revoke a registration due to receipt of a certificate of noncompliance from the CCU;
- b. The applicant or registrant must contact the CCU to schedule a conference or to otherwise obtain a withdrawal of a certificate of noncompliance;
- c. Unless the CCU furnishes a withdrawal of a certificate of noncompliance to the administrator within 60 days of issuance of the notice, the application shall be denied or the registration shall be suspended or revoked;
- d. The applicant or registrant does not have a right to a hearing before the administrator, but may file an application for hearing in district court pursuant to Iowa Code section 272D.9; and
- *e*. The filing of an application for hearing with the district court will stay the proceedings of the administrator.
- **50.54(3)** The filing of an application for hearing with the district court under Iowa Code section 272D.9 automatically stays action of the administrator until the administrator is notified of the resolution of the application.
- **50.54(4)** If the administrator does not receive a withdrawal of the certificate of noncompliance from the CCU or a notice that an application for district court hearing has been filed, the administrator shall deny, suspend or revoke the application or registration 60 days after the notice prescribed in subrule 50.54(2) is issued.
- **50.54(5)** Upon receiving a withdrawal of the certificate of noncompliance from the CCU, the administrator shall immediately halt action to deny an application or suspend or revoke a registration. The applicant or registrant shall be notified that action has been halted. If the application has already been denied or if a registration has already been suspended or revoked, the applicant or former registrant shall reapply for registration. The application shall be granted if the individual is otherwise in compliance with applicable laws, rules, regulations and orders.
- **50.54(6)** All application fees must be paid by the applicant before a registration will be issued after the administrator has denied, suspended, or revoked a registration pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 272D.
- **50.54(7)** Notwithstanding any statutory confidentiality provision, the administrator may share information with the CCU for the sole purpose of identifying applicants or registrants subject to enforcement pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 272D.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code chapter 272D.