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661—372.5(103A) Denial, suspension, or revocation—civil penalties.
372.5(1) The commissioner may deny the issuance or renewal of a license if the applicant has

committed any violation of any provision of law applicable to the operation of a business required to be
licensed pursuant to this chapter.

372.5(2) The commissioner may suspend or revoke a license for any violation of this chapter or of
any other provision of law applicable to the operation of a business required to be licensed pursuant to
this chapter.

372.5(3) The commissioner may impose a civil penalty for any violation of this chapter or of Iowa
Code chapter 103A relating to the manufacture of a manufactured or mobile home. A civil penalty may
be imposed in addition to a denial of the issuance or renewal of a license, a suspension of a license, or a
revocation of a license. A civil penalty shall not be imposed in lieu of a denial of the issuance or renewal
of a license or of a revocation of a license. A civil penalty shall not exceed $1,000 for each offense.
Each violation involving a separate manufactured or mobile home, or a separate failure or refusal to
allow an act to be performed or to perform an act as required by this chapter or Iowa Code chapter 103A,
constitutes a separate offense. However, the maximum amount of civil penalties which may be assessed
for any series of violations occurring within one year from the date of the first violation shall not exceed
$1 million.

372.5(4) Suspension or revocation for nonpayment of child support. The following procedures shall
apply to actions taken by the building code commissioner on a certificate of noncompliance received
from the Iowa department of human services pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 252J:

a. The notice required by Iowa Code section 252J.8 shall be served upon the licensee by
restricted certified mail, return receipt requested, or personal service in accordance with Iowa Rule of
Civil Procedure 1.305. Alternatively, the licensee may accept service personally or through authorized
counsel.

b. The effective date of revocation or suspension of certification of a licensee, as specified in the
notice required by Iowa Code section 252J.8, shall be 60 days following service upon the licensee.

c. Licensees shall keep the building code commissioner informed of all court actions and all child
support recovery unit actions taken under or in connection with Iowa Code chapter 252J and shall provide
the building code commissioner with copies, within 7 days of filing or issuance, of all applications filed
with the district court pursuant to Iowa Code section 252J.9, all court orders entered in such actions, and
withdrawals of certificates of noncompliance by the child support recovery unit.

d. All applicable fees for an application or reinstatement must be paid by the licensee before
a license will be issued, renewed, or reinstated after the building code commissioner has denied the
issuance or renewal of a license or has suspended or revoked a license pursuant to Iowa Code chapter
252J.

e. In the event a licensee files a timely district court action following service of a notice pursuant to
Iowa Code sections 252J.8 and 252J.9, the building code commissioner shall continue with the intended
action described in the notice upon the receipt of a court order lifting the stay, dismissing the action,
or otherwise directing the department to proceed. For the purpose of determining the effective date of
revocation or suspension of the certification, the building code commissioner shall count the number of
days before the action was filed and the number of days after the action was disposed of by the court.

f. Suspensions or revocations imposed pursuant to this subrule may not be appealed
administratively within the department of public safety.

NOTE: The procedures established in subrule 372.5(4) implement the requirements of Iowa Code
chapter 252J. The provisions of Iowa Code chapter 252J establish mandatory requirements for an agency
which administers a licensure program, such as the one established in this chapter, and provide that
actions brought under these provisions are not subject to contested case procedures established in Iowa
Code chapter 17A, but must be appealed directly to district court.

372.5(5) Appeals. Any denial, suspension, or revocation of a certification, or any civil penalty
imposed upon a licensee under this rule, other than one imposed pursuant to subrule 372.5(4), may
be appealed by the licensee within 14 days of receipt of the notice. Appeals of actions taken by the
building code commissioner under this rule shall be to the commissioner of public safety and shall
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be treated as contested cases, following the procedures established in rules 661—10.301(17A) through
661—10.332(17A).


