IAC Ch 14, p.1

605—14.3 (418) Flood mitigation board.

14.3(1) The flood mitigation board is established and housed, for administrative purposes, within the department. The director shall provide office space, staff assistance, supplies and equipment, and budget funds to pay the necessary expenses of the board.

14.3(2) The board shall be comprised of nine voting members and five ex-officio nonvoting members.

- a. The voting members shall include all of the following:
- (1) Four members of the general public appointed by the governor and confirmed by the senate in accordance with Iowa Code sections 69.16 and 69.16A. These members shall be appointed to three-year staggered terms, and the terms shall commence and end as provided in Iowa Code section 69.19.
- 1. Two members of the general public shall have demonstrable experience or expertise in the field of natural disaster recovery.
- 2. Two members of the general public shall have demonstrable experience or expertise in the field of flood mitigation.
 - (2) The director of the department of natural resources or the director's designee.
 - (3) The secretary of agriculture or the secretary's designee.
 - (4) The director of the department or the director's designee.
 - (5) The treasurer of state or the treasurer's designee.
 - (6) The executive director of the Iowa finance authority or the executive director's designee.
 - b. The ex-officio nonvoting members shall include the following:
 - (1) A member of the general assembly appointed by the majority leader of the senate.
 - (2) A member of the general assembly appointed by the minority leader of the senate.
 - (3) A member of the general assembly appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives.
- (4) A member of the general assembly appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives.
 - (5) The director of the department of revenue or the director's designee.
 - **14.3(3)** The governor shall designate a chairperson and vice chairperson from the voting members.
- **14.3(4)** The board shall meet at a time and place determined by the board. Additional meetings may be called by:
 - a. The chairperson,
 - b. The vice chairperson, or
 - c. The director.
- **14.3(5)** All meetings of the board are public meetings and shall be conducted in accordance with Iowa Code chapter 21. A majority of the voting members constitutes a quorum.

[ARC 1114C, IAB 10/16/13, effective 11/20/13; ARC 2220C, IAB 10/28/15, effective 12/2/15]