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281—31.2(299) Reports as to competent private instruction.

31.2(1) Reporting. Subject to subrule 31.2(3), the parent, guardian, or legal or actual custodian of a
child of compulsory attendance age who does not enroll the child in a public school or Iowa accredited
nonpublic school or who is not obtaining independent private instruction for the child shall complete a
report in duplicate on forms created by the department of education and provided by the resident public
school district, indicating the parent, guardian, or legal or actual custodian’s intent to provide or arrange
for competent private instruction for the child for each school year. The report shall be filed with the
school district by September 1 of the school year in which the child will be under competent private
instruction.

a.  The report shall include the following information:

(1) The name and address of the parent, guardian, or legal or actual custodian reporting;

(2) The name and birth date of the child,;

(3) An indication of the number of days of instruction, which must be a minimum of 148 days per
academic year;

(4) The name and address of the person or persons providing competent private instruction to the
child and an indication of whether each such person is the holder of a valid Iowa practitioner license or
teaching certificate appropriate to the age and grade level of the child being taught;

(5) An outline of the courses of study, including subjects covered, lesson plans, and time spent on
the areas of study;

(6) The titles and authors or publishers of the texts to be used;

(7) Evidence of immunization of the child or evidence of exemption, as required by law, if the child
is being placed under competent private instruction for the first time and, if the child is younger than ten
years of age, a blood lead test in accordance with lowa Code section 135.105D. NOTE: Noncompliance
with the blood lead test requirement shall not be considered a violation of compulsory attendance laws.

b.  Thereport shall also seek the following information, which may be supplied by the person filing
the report:

(1) An indication of whether and to what extent dual enrollment of the child in the public school
is desired;

(2) An indication of whether the child is currently identified as a child requiring special education
pursuant to the rules of special education;

(3) An indication of which form of annual assessment, if applicable, is to be administered to the
child and which test, if known, is desired.

31.2(2) Late reporting. If a parent, guardian, or legal or actual custodian decides, after enrolling a
child of compulsory attendance age in a public or accredited nonpublic school and after the deadline for
filing a report under subrule 31.2(1), to provide competent private instruction to the child, the parent,
guardian, or legal or actual custodian shall file the required report completed as fully as possible no later
than 14 calendar days and a fully completed report within 30 calendar days after removing the child from
the public or accredited nonpublic school. Days of the child’s attendance in the public or nonpublic
school up to the time of removal shall be applied to the 148-day minimum compulsory attendance
requirement for the school year affected.

31.2(3) Reporting requirement option: private instruction exemption. A parent, guardian, or legal
or actual custodian of a child of compulsory attendance age providing competent private instruction to
the child under lowa Code section 299A.3 may meet, but is not required to meet, all of the following
requirements:

a. Complete and send, in a timely manner, the report required under lowa Code section 299.4 and
this rule to the school district of residence of the child.

b.  Ensure that the child under the parent’s, guardian’s, or legal or actual custodian’s instruction is
evaluated annually to determine whether the child is making adequate progress, as defined in lowa Code
section 299A.6 and this chapter.

c.  Ensure that the results of the child’s annual evaluation are reported to the school district of
residence of the child and to the department of education by a date not later than August 1 of the year
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following the school year in which the child is under competent private instruction, pursuant to this
chapter.

31.2(4) Reporting requirement option not available.

a. The reporting requirement option provided in subrule 31.2(3) shall not be available to any
parent, guardian, or legal or actual custodian who requests services from a school district or area
education agency under this chapter, including but not limited to provision of instructional materials
under subrule 31.5(4), assistance from a home school assistance program under subrule 31.5(5),
dual enrollment under rule 281—31.6(299A), open enrollment under rule 281—31.7(299), or special
education services under rule 281—31.10(299A). Parents who elect the reporting requirement option
under subrule 31.2(3) and who request testing assistance under subrule 31.5(2) or an approved course
in driver education under subrule 31.5(6) need not complete the form required by subrule 31.2(1), but
must demonstrate that the child is receiving competent private instruction pursuant to this chapter.

b.  Notwithstanding the reporting requirement option described in subrule 31.2(3), a parent,
guardian, or legal or actual custodian of a child currently requiring special education must obtain
approval pursuant to rule 281—31.10(299A) before providing competent private instruction, unless

that rule provides otherwise.
[ARC 1246C, IAB 12/11/13, effective 1/15/14; ARC 5868C, IAB 8/25/21, effective 9/29/21]
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