IAC Ch 1, p.1

## 650—1.3(17A,147,153) Organization of the board.

**1.3(1)** The board shall be composed of five members licensed to practice dentistry, two members licensed to practice dental hygiene and two members not licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene and who shall represent the general public. All members are appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the senate.

- **1.3(2)** Five members of the board shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of conducting business.
- **1.3(3)** The dental hygiene committee of the board shall be composed of the two dental hygiene members of the board and one dentist member of the board. The dentist member will be elected annually to serve on the committee by a majority vote of the board. The dentist member of the committee must have supervised and worked in collaboration with a dental hygienist for a period of at least three years immediately preceding election to the committee.
- **1.3(4)** Two members of the dental hygiene committee shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of conducting business.
- **1.3(5)** Committees of the board may be appointed by the board chairperson and shall not constitute a quorum of the board. The board chairperson shall appoint committee chairpersons. Committees of the board may include the executive committee, licensure committee, grievance committee, continuing education advisory committee, and dental assistant committee.