IAC Ch 17, p.1

653—17.7 (147,148E,272C) Biennial renewal of license required. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 148E.2, a license expires on October 31 of even-numbered years and can be renewed for the fee identified in 653—paragraph 8.2(2) "c." The applicant for renewal shall provide an NCCAOM certificate that demonstrates that the applicant holds current active status as a diplomate in acupuncture or oriental medicine from the NCCAOM.

- **17.7(1)** *Expiration date.* Certificates of licensure to practice acupuncture shall expire on October 31 in even years.
- 17.7(2) *Prorated fees.* The first renewal fee for a license shall be prorated on a monthly basis according to the date of issue.
- 17.7(3) Renewal requirements and penalties for late renewal. Each licensee shall be sent a renewal notice at least 60 days prior to the expiration date. The licensee is responsible for renewing the license prior to its expiration. Failure of the licensee to receive the notice does not relieve the licensee of responsibility for renewing that license.
- a. When online renewal is used, the licensee must complete the online renewal prior to midnight on December 31 in order to ensure that the license will not become inactive. The license becomes inactive and invalid at 12:01 a.m. on January 1.
- b. Upon receipt of the completed renewal application, staff shall administratively issue a license that expires on October 31 of even-numbered years. In the event the board receives adverse information on the renewal application, the board shall issue the renewal license but may refer the adverse information for further consideration.
 - c. Every renewal shall be displayed in connection with the original certificate of licensure.
- d. If the licensee fails to submit the renewal application and renewal fee prior to the expiration date on the current license, a \$50 penalty shall be assessed for renewal in the grace period, a period up until January 1 when the license becomes inactive if not renewed.
- **17.7(4)** *Inactive license.* Failure of a licensee to renew by January 1 will result in invalidation of the license and the license will become inactive.
- a. Licensees are prohibited from engaging in the practice of acupuncture once the license is lapsed.
- b. Having an acupuncturist license in lapsed status does not preclude the board from taking disciplinary actions authorized in Iowa Code section 147.55 or 148E.8.

[ARC 8707B, IAB 5/5/10, effective 6/9/10; ARC 2950C, IAB 2/15/17, effective 3/22/17]