CHAPTER 28H

COUNCILS OF GOVERNMENTS

28H.1	Councils of governments established.	28H.4	Membership — liability of members.
28H.2 28H.3	Work program — coordination. Duties.	28H.5	Agreements with other agencies.

28H.1 Councils of governments established.

For purposes of this chapter, a council of governments includes the following areas established by executive order number 11, 1968 or a chapter 28E agreement:

- 1. Upper explorerland regional planning commission serving Allamakee, Clayton, Fayette, Howard, and Winneshiek counties.
- 2. North Iowa area council of governments serving Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Kossuth, Mitchell, Winnebago, and Worth counties.
- 3. Northwest Iowa planning and development commission serving Buena Vista, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, and Sioux counties.
- 4. Siouxland interstate metropolitan planning council serving Ida, Monona, Plymouth, Woodbury, and Cherokee counties.
- 5. MIDAS council of governments serving Calhoun, Hamilton, Humboldt, Pocahontas, Webster, and Wright counties.
- 6. Region six planning commission serving Hardin, Poweshiek, Tama, and Marshall counties.
- 7. Iowa northland regional council of governments serving Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw, and Grundy counties.
- 8. East central intergovernmental association serving Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, and Jackson counties.
 - 9. Bi-state metropolitan planning commission serving Scott and Muscatine counties.
- 10. East central Iowa council of governments serving Benton, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn, and Washington counties.
- 11. Region twelve council of governments serving Audubon, Carroll, Crawford, Greene, Guthrie, and Sac counties.
- 12. Southwest Iowa planning council serving Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Montgomery, Page, and Shelby counties.
- 13. Southern Iowa council of governments serving Adair, Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Madison, Ringgold, Taylor, and Union counties.
- 14. Area fifteen regional planning commission serving Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Van Buren, and Wapello counties.
- 15. Southeast Iowa regional planning commission serving Des Moines, Henry, Lee, and Louisa counties.
 - 16. Metropolitan area planning agency serving Mills and Pottawattamie counties.
- 17. Chariton valley council of governments serving Appanoose, Lucas, Monroe, and Wayne counties.

90 Acts, ch 1157, \$1; 90 Acts, ch 1262, \$40; 2007 Acts, ch 76, \$1, 2; 2011 Acts, ch 34, \$13 Referred to in \$28H.3

Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Marion, Polk, Story, and Warren counties, or combinations of these, may form councils of governments or associate with any existing councils of governments; 90 Acts, ch 1157, §6; 90 Acts, ch 1262, §41

28H.2 Work program — coordination.

- 1. Each council of governments shall adopt each year a work program to establish guidelines for delivery of services and activities to communities in the area. The work program shall include but is not limited to the following:
- a. Cooperation in delivery of community development programs and services to units of local government.
- b. Cooperation with the regional coordinating council in the development of plans and programs for community development.
 - 2. The councils of governments shall receive information and recommendations on issues

of regional economic importance from the regional coordinating council for possible use in the regional community development plan.

90 Acts, ch 1157, §2; 2009 Acts, ch 82, §15

28H.3 Duties.

A council of governments shall perform, but is not limited to, the following duties:

- 1. Provide planning services or technical assistance to the region defined in section 28H.1.
- 2. Coordinate regional community development planning to assist community development and planning.
- 3. Coordinate delivery of community development programs and services with local, state, and federal programs and activities.
- 4. Prepare a regional community development plan which shall be updated annually. The plan shall include but is not limited to the following:
 - a. Inventory and needs assessment of regional infrastructure.
 - b. Labor supply.
 - c. Cultural and fine arts resources.
 - d. Housing.
 - e. Primary health care services.
 - f. Natural resources, conservation, and recreational facilities.
 - g. Region-wide development opportunities.
 - 90 Acts, ch 1157, §3

28H.4 Membership — liability of members.

- 1. Membership, appointments, and terms of office shall be governed by bylaws adopted by each council of governments.
- 2. A director, officer, employee, member, trustee, or volunteer of a council of governments is not liable for the debts or obligations of the council of governments. A director, officer, employee, member, trustee, or volunteer is not personally liable for a claim based upon an act or omission of the person performed in the discharge of the person's duties, except for acts or omissions which involve intentional misconduct or knowing violation of the law, or for a transaction for which the person derives an improper personal benefit.

90 Acts, ch 1157, §4

28H.5 Agreements with other agencies.

A council of governments shall be considered a public agency for the purpose of chapter 28E. A council of governments may enter into an agreement under chapter 28E with another council of governments, community college, or other public agency for the purpose of community development and planning.

90 Acts, ch 1157, §5