28B.1 Membership of commission.

- 1. In accordance with a resolution adopted for this purpose by the legislative council, an Iowa commission on interstate cooperation shall be appointed to address the charge and other responsibilities for the commission outlined in the resolution. The commission shall consist of thirteen members to be appointed as follows:
- a. Three members of the senate to be appointed by the majority leader of the senate and two members of the senate to be appointed by the minority leader of the senate.
- b. Three members of the house of representatives to be appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and two members of the house of representatives to be appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives.
 - c. Three administrative officers to be appointed by the governor.
- 2. Appointments shall be made prior to the fourth Monday in January of the first regular session of the general assembly. Members shall take office on February 1 following their appointment and serve for two-year terms or until their successors are appointed and take office.
- 3. The governor, the majority leader of the senate, and the speaker of the house of representatives are ex officio honorary nonvoting members of the commission.
- 4. The director of the legislative services agency shall serve as secretary of the commission.

[C62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §28B.1]

86 Acts, ch 1245, \$2027; 2003 Acts, ch 35, \$44, 49; 2008 Acts, ch 1032, \$201; 2008 Acts, ch 1156, \$21, 58; 2012 Acts, ch 1138, \$108