# REAL ESTATE APPRAISER EXAMINING BOARD[193F]

### Adopted and Filed

### Rulemaking related to fees

The Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board hereby adopts new Chapter 11, "Fees," and rescinds Chapter 12, "Fees," Iowa Administrative Code.

Legal Authority for Rulemaking

This rulemaking is adopted under the authority provided in Iowa Code section 543D.5.

State or Federal Law Implemented

This rulemaking implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code chapter 543D and Executive Order 10 (January 10, 2023).

## Purpose and Summary

Chapter 11 establishes the fees assessed for the licensing of real estate appraisers in the state of Iowa. It also includes a provision for the Appraisal Subcommittee Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council fees that are collected by the State of Iowa on licensees' behalf. The benefit of this rulemaking is being upfront with prospective appraisers and the general public about the fees associated with each application type.

## Public Comment and Changes to Rulemaking

Notice of Intended Action for this rulemaking was published in the Iowa Administrative Bulletin on January 24, 2024, as **ARC 7268C**. Public hearings were held on February 13, 2024, and February 14, 2024, at 10:40 a.m. at 6200 Park Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa, and virtually. No one attended the public hearings. No public comments were received. No changes from the Notice have been made.

Adoption of Rulemaking

This rulemaking was adopted by the Board on March 19, 2024.

Fiscal Impact

This rulemaking has no fiscal impact to the State of Iowa.

Jobs Impact

After analysis and review of this rulemaking, no impact on jobs has been found.

#### Waivers

Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rulemaking would result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing for a waiver of the discretionary provisions, if any, pursuant to 481—Chapter 6.

### Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee

The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees rulemaking by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual or group, review this rulemaking at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee's meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.8(6).

# Effective Date

This rulemaking will become effective on May 22, 2024.

The following rulemaking action is adopted:

ITEM 1. Adopt the following <u>new</u> 193F—Chapter 11:

CHAPTER 11 FEES

# 193F—11.1(543D) Fees.

Biennial registration fee for active status (initial, reciprocal, renewal):	
Associate/Certified real property appraiser > one year \$2	200
Associate/Certified real property appraiser < one year \$1	100
Biennial registration fee for inactive status (initial, reciprocal, renewal):	
Certified real property appraiser \$1	100
Associate real property appraiser \$5	50
Temporary practice permit fee (each request) \$1	100
Reinstatement of a lapsed or retired license (lapsed or retired to active status)	150 (plus the registration fee)
Reactivation of an inactive or retired license (inactive or retired \$5 to active status)	50 (plus the registration fee)
Formal wall certificate \$2	25
Work product review fees:	
Original submission, certified residential \$3	300
Original submission, certified general \$6	650
Additional residential reports as requested by the board \$1	150 per report
Additional nonresidential reports as requested by the board \$2	250 per report
Voluntary submission of residential reports for review \$1	150 per report
Voluntary submission of nonresidential reports for review \$2	250 per report
Course application fee (non-AQB-approved courses and secondary providers) \$5	50
Pre-/post-course application fee \$2	25
Background check \$5	51
Add supervisory appraiser \$2	25
Original submission, certified residential \$3 Original submission, certified general \$6 Additional residential reports as requested by the board \$1 Additional nonresidential reports as requested by the board \$2	650 150 per report 250 per report

Add course instructor	\$10
Waiver to administrative rules	\$25
Late renewal of associate or certified	\$50
ASC National Registry fee > one year, separate from registration fee (collected by the board for FFIEC)	\$80
ASC National Registry fee < one year, separate from registration fee (collected by the board for FFIEC)	\$40
Examination fee (and reexamination fee) (to be paid to the examination provider)	Current provider rate

193F—11.2(543D) Prorating of registration fees. An applicant applying for initial or reciprocal registration or certification within 12 months from the applicant's renewal date, pursuant to rule 193F—8.1(543D), will pay half the fee. An applicant applying for initial or reciprocal registration or certification more than 12 months from the applicant's renewal date will pay the full registration fee. An applicant applying to reinstate or reactivate a lapsed registration or certification within 12 months from the applicant's renewal date, pursuant to rule 193F—8.1(543D), will pay half the renewal fee plus the applicable reactivation or reinstatement fee. An applicant applying to reinstate or reactivate a lapsed registration or certification more than 12 months from the applicant's renewal date will pay the full renewal fee plus the applicable reactivation or reinstatement fee.

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 543D.6.

ITEM 2. Rescind and reserve 193F—Chapter 12.

[Filed 3/27/24, effective 5/22/24] [Published 4/17/24]

EDITOR'S NOTE: For replacement pages for IAC, see IAC Supplement 4/17/24.