REAL ESTATE COMMISSION[193E]

Adopted and Filed

Rulemaking related to time-share filing

The Real Estate Commission hereby rescinds Chapter 20, "Time-Share Filing," Iowa Administrative Code, and adopts a new chapter with the same title.

Legal Authority for Rulemaking

This rulemaking is adopted under the authority provided in Iowa Code section 557A.11.

State or Federal Law Implemented

This rulemaking implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code section 557A.11.

Purpose and Summary

This chapter sets forth time-share filing requirements for time-share companies. This is strictly a marketing chapter for time-share companies to follow. Iowa Code chapter 557A covers laws by which the companies will have to abide. The intended benefit of this chapter is to provide information to the public regarding marketing in Iowa.

Public Comment and Changes to Rulemaking

Notice of Intended Action for this rulemaking was published in the Iowa Administrative Bulletin on January 10, 2024, as **ARC 7461C**. Public hearings were held on January 30 and 31, 2024, at 11 a.m. at 6200 Park Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa. No one attended the public hearings. No public comments were received. No changes from the Notice have been made.

Adoption of Rulemaking

This rulemaking was adopted by the Commission on March 7, 2024.

Fiscal Impact

This rulemaking has no fiscal impact to the State of Iowa.

Jobs Impact

After analysis and review of this rulemaking, no impact on jobs has been found.

Waivers

Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rulemaking would result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing for a waiver of the discretionary provisions, if any, pursuant to 481—Chapter 6.

Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee

The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees rulemaking by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual or group, review this rulemaking at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee's meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.8(6).

Effective Date

This rulemaking will become effective on May 22, 2024.

The following rulemaking action is adopted:

ITEM 1. Rescind 193E—Chapter 20 and adopt the following **new** chapter in lieu thereof:

CHAPTER 20 TIME-SHARE FILING

- **193E—20.1(557A) Time-share interval filing fees.** Each initial filing made pursuant to Iowa Code sections 557A.11 and 557A.12 are accompanied by a basic filing fee of \$100 plus \$25 for every 100 time-share intervals or fraction thereof included in the offering.
- **20.1(1)** A registration fee is paid with the filing of an application for registration consolidating additional time-share intervals with a prior registration and a fee of \$50 plus an additional fee of \$25 for every 100 time-share intervals or fraction thereof included in the offering.
- **20.1(2)** A fee is not charged for amendments to the property report as a result of amendments to the initial filing, unless the commission determines the amendments are made for the purpose of avoiding the payment of a fee, in which event the amendment may be treated as an application for registration consolidating additional time-share intervals with a prior registration.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code chapter 557A.

[Filed 3/21/24, effective 5/22/24] [Published 4/17/24]

EDITOR'S NOTE: For replacement pages for IAC, see IAC Supplement 4/17/24.