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Adopted and Filed

Rulemaking related to fees

The Accountancy Examining Board hereby rescinds Chapter 12, “Fees,” Iowa Administrative Code,
and adopts a new chapter with the same title.

Legal Authority for Rulemaking

This rulemaking is adopted under the authority provided in Iowa Code section 542.4.

State or Federal Law Implemented

This rulemaking implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code chapter 542 and Executive Order 10
(January 10, 2023).

Purpose and Summary

These amendments implement changes recommended by ExecutiveOrder 10. The purpose of Chapter
12 is to provide helpful information on the fees to acquire and maintain a Certified Public Accountant
(CPA)/Licensed Public Accountant (LPA) license, plus information on reinstating a lapsed license.

Public Comment and Changes to Rulemaking

Notice of Intended Action for this rulemaking was published in the Iowa Administrative Bulletin on
January 10, 2024, asARC 7395C. Public hearings were held on January 30, 2024, and January 31, 2024,
at 12:30 p.m. at 6200 Park Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa. No one attended the public hearings. No public
comments were received. No changes from the Notice have been made.

Adoption of Rulemaking

This rulemaking was adopted by the Board on February 15, 2024.

Fiscal Impact

This rulemaking has no fiscal impact to the State of Iowa. No current fees are being changed, and no
new fees are being imposed.

Jobs Impact

After analysis and review of this rulemaking, no impact on jobs has been found.

Waivers

Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rulemaking would
result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and
Licensing for a waiver of the discretionary provisions, if any, pursuant to 481—Chapter 6.

Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee

The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees
rulemaking by executive branch agencies, may, on its ownmotion or on written request by any individual
or group, review this rulemaking at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee’s
meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in Iowa Code section
17A.8(6).
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https://www.legis.iowa.gov/committees/meetings/meetingsListComm?groupID=705&ga=90


Effective Date

This rulemaking will become effective on April 10, 2024.

The following rulemaking action is adopted:
ITEM 1. Rescind 193A—Chapter 12 and adopt the following new chapter in lieu thereof:

CHAPTER 12
FEES

193A—12.1(542) Fees. The following is a schedule of the fees for examinations, certificates, licenses,
permits and renewals adopted by the board:

Initial CPA examination application:
Paid directly to CPA examination services not to exceed $1,500

Reexamination:
Paid directly to CPA examination services not to exceed $1,500

Original issuance of CPA certificate or LPA license by examination
(fee includes wall certificate)

$100

Original issuance of CPA certificate by reciprocity or substantial
equivalency

$100

CPA wall certificate or LPA license issued by reciprocity or
substantial equivalency

$50

Replacement of lost or destroyed wall CPA certificate or LPA license $50
Original issuance of attest qualification $100
Annual renewal of CPA certificate or LPA license—active status $100
Late renewal of CPA certificate or LPA license within 30-day grace
period (July 1 to July 30)—active status

$25

Annual renewal of CPA certificate or LPA license—inactive status $50
Late renewal of CPA certificate or LPA license within 30-day grace
period (July 1 to July 30)—inactive status

$10

Original issuance of firm permit to practice $100
Annual renewal of firm permit to practice $100
Reinstatement of lapsed CPA certificate or LPA license $100 + renewal fee +

$25 per month of expired
registration

Reinstatement of lapsed firm permit to practice $100 + renewal fee +
$25 per month of expired

registration
Interstate Transfer Form $25
License predetermination fee $25

193A—12.2(542) Reinstatement.
12.2(1) Reinstatement of a lapsed CPA certificate or LPA license. The fee for the reinstatement of

a lapsed CPA certificate or LPA license is $100 plus the renewal fee plus $25 per month of expired
registration up to a maximum of $1,000.

12.2(2) Reinstatement of lapsed firm permit to practice. The fee for the reinstatement of a lapsed
CPA or LPA firm permit to practice for applications is $100 plus the renewal fee plus $25 per month of
expired registration up to a maximum of $1,000.

12.2(3) Applicants for reinstatement. All applicants for reinstatement will be assessed the $100
reinstatement fee. The $25 per month penalty fee described in subrules 12.2(1) and 12.2(2) will not
be assessed if the applicant for reinstatement did not, during the period of lapse, engage in any acts or
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https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/193A.12.2.pdf
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practices for which an active CPA certificate, LPA license, or firm permit to practice as a CPA or LPA
firm is necessary in Iowa. Falsely claiming an exemption from the monthly penalty fee is a ground for
discipline; in addition, other grounds for discipline may arise from practicing on a lapsed certificate,
license or permit to practice.

193A—12.3(542) Prorating of certain fees. Fees for the issuance of an original CPA certificate or LPA
license, pursuant to rule 193A—5.3(542), or the issuance of an initial permit to practice to a CPA or LPA
firm, pursuant to rule 193A—7.1(542), will not be prorated.

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code chapter 542.

[Filed 2/15/24, effective 4/10/24]
[Published 3/6/24]

EDITOR’S NOTE: For replacement pages for IAC, see IAC Supplement 3/6/24.
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