House Resolution 8 - Introduced

An Act 1to recognize the Iowa Small Business
2Development Centers and honor 2019 award winners.
3WHEREAS, since 1981, the Iowa Small Business
4Development Centers have provided expert and
5confidential business counseling services and training
6workshops to entrepreneurs in all 99 Iowa counties;and
7WHEREAS, the Iowa Small Business Development Centers
8provide a wide variety of services to foster the growth
9of Iowa business, including one-to-one professional
10business counseling, learning opportunities,
11workshops, courses and classes, and a variety of other
13WHEREAS, the Iowa Small Business Development Centers
14have announced the 2019 award winners for the centers’
15two special entrepreneur awards;and
16WHEREAS, Sara Winkleman of Bancroft, the owner of
17S&B Farmstead Distillery, is the 2019 Deb Dalziel
18Woman Entrepreneur Achievement Award winner, an
19award which honors an Iowa woman entrepreneur who has
20significantly changed or improved her life and the
21lives of others;and
22WHEREAS, Staci Ackerson of Charles City, the owner
23of Shankland Insurance, has received the 2019 Neal
24Smith Entrepreneur of the Year Award, an award named in
25honor of the long-serving Iowa congressman, given to an
26Iowa entrepreneur who has been in business a minimum of
27three years and has been significantly assisted by an
28Iowa Small Business Development Center;NOW THEREFORE,
2the House of Representatives honors award winners Sara
3Winkleman and Staci Ackerson, congratulates them on
4their success, and recognizes and expresses its thanks
5to the Iowa Small Business Development Centers for
6their ongoing work in making Iowa a better place to
7live and work.