House Concurrent Resolution 6 - Introduced

A Concurrent Resolution 1opposing barriers to conducting
2research on the use of cannabis to treat medical
3conditions and illnesses.
4WHEREAS, citizens across the country are using
5cannabis to treat a variety of medical conditions and
6illnesses, and it is becoming increasingly accessible,
7despite the dearth of scientific research that exists
8on its efficacy overall, and its efficacy as impacted
9by dosage amounts, drug interactions, drug composition,
10and drug side effects;and
11WHEREAS, federal statutory and regulatory barriers
12have prevented thorough research on the use of cannabis
13to treat medical conditions and illnesses, and these
14barriers have undermined the ability of states to
15obtain clear, well-researched scientific evidence
16relevant to use of cannabis for medical purposes;and
17WHEREAS, it is time for the federal government to
18recognize the serious public policy risks borne from
19lack of medical, public health, and pharmaceutical
20research into cannabis and its use for medical
22WHEREAS, the federal government has a duty to
23protect its citizens by promoting research on the
24medicinal value, if any, of cannabis to treat a variety
25of medical conditions and illnesses;and
26WHEREAS, it is the solemn duty of the states to
27protect the health and well-being of all people and to
28propose statutory and regulatory actions to accomplish
-1-1that end;NOW THEREFORE,
3SENATE CONCURRING, That the General Assembly of the
4State of Iowa hereby urges the United States Congress
5to take immediate steps to promote and actively
6pursue scientific research and testing into the use of
7cannabis to treat medical conditions and illnesses by
8removing the federal statutory and regulatory barriers
9that prevent these scientific endeavors; and
   10BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this
11Resolution be sent to the President of the United
12States, the President of the United States Senate, the
13Speaker of the United States House of Representatives,
14and to each member of Iowa’s congressional delegation.