NUMBER XVI.

AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE LANDS.

Resolved, by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa, The Trustees of the Agricultural College and Farm are hereby required to incorporate, in their next biennial report to the General Assembly, a tabular statement, showing the amount of land by them leased or sold, the name of the lessee or purchaser, the date of lease or contract of sale, the amount paid on each price so leased or sold, and the amount of fees or charges received by their agent upon each piece of land so leased or sold.

Approved April 6, 1868.

NUMBER XVII.

APPOINTING TRUSTRES OF THE ASYLUM OF THE BLIND.

Resolved by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa, That James Chapin, of Benton county, John Hodgdon, of Dubuque county, and Charles G. Truesdell, of Clinton county, be and are hereby appointed trustees of the institution for the blind for four years from February 1st, 1868, and until their successors are elected and qualified.

Approved April 7, 1868.

NUMBER XVIII.

FOR INCREASE OF MAIL FACILITIES.

JOINT RESOLUTION Regulating increased Mail Facilities in Iowa.

Be it resolved by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa, That our senators in Congress be instructed, and our representatives requested, to procure, if possible, increased mail facilities in this State, as follows:

1. A mail-route and tri-weekly service thereon from Nashua, in Chickasaw county, via Bradford, Chickasaw, Deerfield, Pettibone's, and Crane Creek, to Cresco, in Howard county; also triweekly service from Williamstown, in Chickasaw county, via Northampton and North-Washington to Deerfield.

2. A mail-route and weekly mail-service thereon, from New Hartford, in Butler Centre via Willoughby and Swanton.

3. A mail-route and weekly mail-service thereon, from Carro[1]lton, in Carroll county, via Sac City, Buena Vista, and

Spencer, to Spirit Lake in Dicke[i]nson county.

4. Daily mail-service from Sioux City, via Melbonrne, Cherckee, Peterson, Spencer, Okoboji, Spirit Lake, and Jackson, to Mankato in Minnesota; also tri-weekly service from Carro[1]lton, via Sac City, Stormy Lake, Little Sioux Rapids, Gillett's Grove and Spencer, to Okoboji; also weekly service from Estherville, in Emmett county, via Lost Island, to Gillett's Grove in Clay county.

5. A mail-route, and weekly service thereon, from Yatesville

to Lake City in Calhoun county.

- 6. Semi-weekly mail-service from Nevada, in Story county, via Story City, Henry's, Leakin's Grove, and Reese Grove, to Hawkeye, in Hamilton county, returning via Chadwick's and Thompson's; also, a daily mail from Des Moines, via Greenwood, Ottawa, and Cambridge, to Nevada; also, on route 11,120, triweekly service as far as Belmound, in Wright county, and thence to Forest City, Winnebago county, once a week.
- 7. A mail-route, and weekly service thereon, from Council Bluffs, via Beards Grove and Newtown, to Harlan, in Shelby county.
- 8. Daily mail-service from Winterset, via Afton, Mt. Ayr, and Grant City, to St. Joseph, in Misscuri.
- 9. An extension of the daily mail-service from West Point, via St. Paul and Pilot Grove, to Salem.
- 10. Tri weekly mail service from Iowa Falls, via Marysville, Hampton, and Chapins to Mason City, in Cerro Gordo county.
- 11. A mail-route with tri-weekly service from Onawa City, in Monona county, via Olivers school-house, Crabb bridge, Belvidier, Spring Valley, St. Clair, and Emigrant Settlement, to Dennison, in Crawford county.
- 12. A mail route, with daily service, from Charles City, in Floyd county, via Rockford, Rock Grove City, Nova [Nora]

Springs, and Mason City, to Clear Lake.

- 13. A mail-route, with tri-weekly service, from Ainsworth, in Washington county, via Crawfordsville and Wayne, to Mount Pleasant, in Henry county.
- 14. A mail-route, with daily service, from Bartlett, in Fremont county, by way of Plumb Hollow and Sidney, to Hamburg.
- 15. Daily service of the mails on the Mississippi river, between Keokuk and McGregor, during the season of navigation.
- 16. Daily mail-service, on route No. 11,305, from Homer to Webster City; and tri-weekly service, on route No. 11,204, from Alden to Hopper Grove.

17. A continuous mail-route and weekly service from Mason City, via Clear Lake, Forest City, and Algona, to Spirit Lake; also a tri-weekly service from Waverly, via Clarksville, Elm Springs, Marble Rock, Rockford, Rock Grove City, Nova [Nora] Springs, Shell Rock Falls, Plymouth, Northwood, and Albert Lea to Omatown.

18. A mail-route, with semi-weekly service, from Fayette, via Lima and Wanfuldena, to Volga City, in Clayton county.

19. A mail-route from Clarinda, via Cramer's Corners, Davis Grove, Franklin Grove, and Walnut Creek, to Council Bluffs.

20. A mail-route, with daily service, from Northwood, in

Worth county, to Austin, in Minnesota.

- 21. A continuous mail route, with daily or tri-weekly service, from Des Moines, via Story, Hardin, Franklin, Cerro Gorde, and Worth counties, to a point on the Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad in Minnesota.
- 22. Semi-weekly service of the mails from Dacotah, in Humboldt county, via Dervialer's, to Armstrong's Grove, in Kossuth county.

23. Tri-weekly mail service, on route number 11,291, from Winterset, via Quincy and Clarinda, to Savannah in Missouri.

24. A mail-route with tri-weekly service from Bartlett, via Tabor, to Red Oak Junction, in Montgomery county.

25. A daily mail from Iconium, in Appanoose county, via

Moravia, to Unionville, in same county (except Sundays).

26. Semi-weekly mail-service from Alden to Forest City, in Winnebago county, via F[r]eyburgh, Belmound, Upper Grove, and Hancock Center.

27. Tri-weekly mail from Monmouth, in Jackson county, to Wheatland, in Clinton county, via Keystone Mills, Burgess, and

Toronto.

28. A mail-route, tri-weekly, from Delaware Centre, via Delhi, Hopkinton, Sand Spring, Monticello, Scotch Grove, Johnson, Wyoming and Oxford Mills, to Clarence, in Cedar county, Iowa.

29. Weekly mail from Panora, Guthrie county, to New

Jefferson, Greene county.

30. And that copies hereof be sent by the Secretary of State to the delegation of this State in Congress.

Approved April 7, 1868.