

STATE OF IOWA

Governor Terry E. Branstad Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds BOARD OF NURSING Kathleen R. Weinberg, MSN, RN Executive Director

TO: General Assembly

FROM: Kathy Weinberg

DATE: October 27, 2016

RE: Nurse Licensure Compact

In 2000 Iowa adopted the Nurse Licensure Compact. Currently there are 25 States joining the Compact. It has been operational and successful for over 15 years.

The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) is an interstate compact. It allows a nurse to have one multistate license and practice in other member states both physically and electronically.

The proposed bill is an updated (enhanced) version of the Nurse Licensure Compact with the goal to have all 50 states become members of the compact.

Following are key provisions of the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact:

- The practice of nursing takes place in the state where the patient resides.
- The language includes uniform licensure requirements for all nurses to be issued a multistate license in all member states:
- Meet the home state's qualifications.
 - Graduate from a qualifying education program.
 - Pass the national licensure exam.
 - Have no active discipline on a license.
 - Submit to a criminal background check and have no prior state or federal felony convictions.
 - Not be currently enrolled in an alternative program.
 - Have a valid U.S. Social Security number.
- There is a grandfathering clause to address nurses who currently hold a multistate license.
- Nurses have the ability to practice in multiple states with one license.
- There is an increase to access to care while public protection is maintained.
- A nurse has the authority to practice in multiple states via telehealth.
- The burdensome expenses for both nurses and the organizations that employ them is removed.

• Nurses are allowed to quickly cross state borders and provide vital services in the event of a disaster.

During the 2016 legislative session, ten states adopted the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact. The states are Arizona, Florida, Idaho, Missouri, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia and Wyoming.