## PROOF

STATE OF IOWA

# **Senate Journal**

MONDAY, APRIL 10, 2023

Printed daily by the State of Iowa during the sessions of the General Assembly. An official corrected copy is available for reference in the Secretary of the Senate's Office. (The official bound copy will be available after a reasonable time upon adjournment.)

### JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

NINETY-SECOND CALENDAR DAY FIFTY-THIRD SESSION DAY

Senate Chamber Des Moines, Iowa, Monday, April 10, 2023

The Senate met in regular session at 1:00 p.m., President Pro Tempore Zaun presiding.

Prayer was offered by the Honorable Brad Zaun, member of the Senate from Polk County.

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Senate Page Josephine Kelly.

The Journal of Thursday, April 6, 2023, was approved.

#### INTRODUCTION OF GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEES

The Secretary of the Senate introduced to the Senate chamber Katie Averill, the Governor's appointee to be Superintendent of Credit Unions. She was the guest of Senator Webster and the committee on Commerce.

The Secretary of the Senate introduced to the Senate chamber Mary Mosiman, the Governor's appointee to be Director of the Department of Revenue. She was the guest of the committee on Ways and Means.

INTRODUCTION OF ATTORNEY GENERAL'S APPOINTEE

The Secretary of the Senate introduced to the Senate chamber Lanny Zieman, the Attorney General's appointee to be the Consumer Advocate. He was the guest of the committee on Commerce.

#### ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Senator Whitver, the Senate adjourned at 1:03 p.m. until 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, April 11, 2023.

#### APPENDIX

#### INTRODUCTION OF BILL

Senate File 567, by committee on Ways and Means, a bill for an act relating to health care services and financing including nursing facility licensing and financing and the Medicaid program including third-party recovery and taxation of Medicaid managed care organization premiums, and providing for licensee discipline.

Read first time under Rule 28 and placed on Ways and Means calendar.

#### FINAL COMMITTEE REPORT OF BILL ACTION

#### WAYS AND MEANS

**Bill Title:** \*<u>SENATE FILE 567</u> (formerly <u>SF 462</u>), a bill for an act relating to health care services and financing including nursing facility licensing and financing and the Medicaid program including third-party recovery and taxation of Medicaid managed care organization premiums, and providing for licensee discipline.

#### **Recommendation:** APPROVED COMMITTEE BILL.

**Final Vote:** Yeas, 15: Dawson, Koelker, Jochum, Cournoyer, Dickey, Dotzler, Driscoll, Klimesh, Quirmbach, Rowley, Schultz, Sweeney, T. Taylor, Winckler, and Zaun. Nays, 1: Petersen. Excused, 2: Bousselot and Brown.

#### Fiscal Note: NOT REQUIRED UNDER JOINT RULE 17.

\*Pursuant to Rule 40, the Legislative Services Agency reported nonsubstantive changes to the members of the Ways and Means Committee on <u>Senate File 567</u>, and they were attached to the committee report.

92nd Day

#### WITHDRAWAL OF GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEE

The following letter from the Governor was received in the office of the Secretary of the Senate:

I am withdrawing the name of Kraig Paulsen for confirmation as Director of the Department of Revenue from further consideration by the Senate.

Sincerely, KIM REYNOLDS Governor

#### GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEE PLACED ON INDIVIDUAL CONFIRMATION CALENDAR

The following appointee, assigned to standing committee for investigation, was placed on the Individual Confirmation Calendar with recommendation for confirmation:

#### WAYS AND MEANS

Deborah (Debi) Durham – Director of the Economic Development Authority

#### GOVERNOR'S APPOINTEES PLACED ON EN BLOC CONFIRMATION CALENDAR

The following appointees, assigned to standing committees for investigation, were placed on the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar with recommendation for confirmation:

#### WAYS AND MEANS

Melissa Ballard – Economic Development Authority Dr. Bobbi Bentz – Economic Development Authority Lisa Shimkat – Economic Development Authority Thomas Townsend – Economic Development Authority

Josh Cook – Iowa Lottery Authority Board of Directors Mary Rathje – Iowa Lottery Authority Board of Directors