## REQUESTS OF COMMITTEES FOR CITIZEN MEMBERS AND OTHER REQUESTS

- A. Local Funding and Budgeting Committee requests authorization to appoint the following persons as citizen members of the study committee:
  - 1. Roberta Burkhead, County Auditor of Dallas County.
  - Charles Stroud, former budget officer for the city of Des Moines and present legal counsel for Meredith Printing.
  - 3. Wencl Kadrlik, City Councilman, Garner, Iowa.
  - 4. Warren Wood, Administrative Director for Scott County Board of Supervisors, Davenport, Iowa.
  - 5. A. E. "Bill" Minner, City Clerk, Marshalltown, Iowa.
- B. The Land Use Policies Study Committee requests authorization to appoint the following persons as citizen members of the study committee:
  - Frank Mendell, former Director of the Soil Conservation Service who served on the previous Land Use Policies Study Committee, Des Moines, Iowa.
  - 2. Sherry Fisher, member of the State Soil Conservation Committee who served on the previous Land Use Policies Study Committee, Des Moines, Iowa.
  - Allen J. Meier, Legislative Director for AFL-CIO, who served on the previous Land Use Policies Study Committee, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
- C. The Penal and Correctional Systems Study Committee requests authorization to appoint the following persons as citizen members of the study committee:
  - 1. Mrs. Dorothy Strohbein, a citizen member of the Council Bluffs Crime Commission.
  - Mr. Joseph DeRaad, a former advisory member of the Penal and Correctional Systems Study Committee, and Juvenile Court Referee for Woodbury County, Sioux City, Iowa.
  - 3. Mr. Donald Hoskins, former legal counsel in the Legislative Service Bureau, Marion, Iowa.

- 4. Mrs. Naomi S. Mercer of the Legal Aid Society of Polk County, Des Moines, Iowa.
- Captain Eugene Johnson, Ottumwa Police Department, Ottumwa, Iowa.
- 6. A representative of an institution of higher learning with expertise in criminology and concepts of behavior modification; to be selected.
- Three inmates from Iowa correctional institions; to be selected.
- D. The Uniform Commercial Code Study Committee requests authorization to appoint the following persons as citizen members of the study committee:
  - 1. Mr. Melvin Struthers, Jr., MorAmerica Financial Corp., Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
  - Mr. Wendell Gibson, Iowa Bankers Association, Des Moines, Iowa.
  - 3. Mr. Ed. S. Tesdell, Jr., Iowa Savings & Loan Association, Des Moines, Iowa.
  - 4. Mr. Alfred Kahl, Iowa Auto Dealers Association, Des Moines, Iowa.
  - 5. Mr. Edgar F. Hansell, attorney, Des Moines, Iowa.
  - Mrs. Betty Talkington, Iowa Consumers League, Des Moines, Iowa.
  - 7. Professor Richard F. Dole, Jr., Professor of Law, Iowa City, Iowa.

In addition the study committee requests that travel expenses be authorized for two or three research assistants from Iowa City to attend committee meetings.

- E. The Consumer Credit Code Study Committee requests authorization to pay Professor George Wallace his expenses for attending committee meetings.
- F. The Tax Study Committee requests authorization to pay Representative Jay Mennenga expenses but no per diem for attending a committee meeting to discuss the proposal for a net worth tax.