CITIZEN MEMBERS NOMINATED FOR THE REGULATION OF CONSUMER CREDIT STUDY COMMITTEE

- A person from the Attorney General's office preferably from the Consumer Protection Division - to be appointed by the Attorney General.
- 2. Mrs. Betty M. Talkington President of the Iowa Consumers League, Women's Activities Director of the AFL-CIO member of the Governor's Commission on the Status of Women. She has accepted.
- 3. Mr. William A. Youngstrom Controller Petersen-Harned-Von Maur, Davenport department store
 finance officer. He has accepted.
- 4. Mr. Al Jordan Managing Director of the Iowa Credit Union League. He has accepted.
- 5. Mr. Stan T. Shepherd former state representative who chaired the Commerce Subcommittee which studied the Uniform Consumer Credit Code in 1969. He has accepted.

IOWA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

REPRESENTATIVE ANDREW P. VARLEY, STUART, CHAIRMAN SENATOR CLIFTON C. LAMBORN, MAQUOKETA, VICE-CHAIRMAN

COUNCIL MEMBERS ROGER W. JEPSEN DAVENPORT LT. GOVERNOR

SENATORS:

ショニング E. BRILES, CORNING LEE H. GAUDINEER, JR., DES MOINES EUGENE M. HILL, NEWTON VERNON H. KYHL, PARKERSBURG GEORGE F. MILLIGAN, DES MOINES WILLIAM D. PALMER, DES MOINES JOHN C. RHODES, CHARITON REPRESENTATIVES; MICHAEL T. BLOUIN, DUBUQUE DALE M. COCHRAN, EAGLE GROVE DENNIS L. FREEMAN, STORM LAKE

WILLIAM H. HARBOR, HENDERSON

ED SKINNER, ALTOONA

NATHAN F. SORG, MARION

DELWYN STROMER, GARNER

IOWA LEGISLATIVE SERVICE BUREAU

STATE HOUSE

DES MOINES, IOWA 50319

SERGE H. GARRISON DIRECTOR

July 10, 1972

TELEPHONE 515/281-5287

BUREAU STAFF

LEGAL DIVISION

JOANN BROWN JOHN F. DWYER DONALD C. HOSKINS BURNETTE E. KOEBERNICK

RESEARCH DIVISION

PHILIP E. BURKS DIANE E. BOLENDER THANE R. JOHNSON JEANNE F. MILLER MARK S. SOLDAT

TO: MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

> Representative Andrew P. Varley, Chairman Senator Clifton C. Lamborn, Vice Chairman Lieutenant Governor Roger W. Jepsen Speaker of the House William H. Harbor Senator James E. Briles Senator Lee H. Gaudineer, Jr. Senator Eugene M. Hill Senator Vernon H. Kyhl Senator George F. Milligan Senator William D. Palmer Senator John C. Rhodes Representative Micheal T. Blouin Representative Dale M. Cochran Representative Dennis L. Freeman Representative Ed Skinner Representative Nathan F. Sorg Representative Delwyn Stromer

Senator Roger J. Shaff, Chairman of the Taxation Study Committee, has requested that I direct correspondence to the Legislative Council requesting that Representative Norman Roorda be appointed to the Taxation Study Committee.

At its meeting of June 16, 1972, the Taxation Study Committee unanimously adopted a motion requesting the appointment of Representative Norman Roorda to the Study Committee because the Taxation Study Committee has been directed to review the existing tax exemptions under House Concurrent Resolution 127. Representative Roorda served as chairman of the Tax Exemptions Subcommittee of the Standing Committees on Ways and Means during the 1971 interim and the members of the Taxation Study Committee feel that his experience in the area of tax exemptions would be invaluable to the Study Committee.

Sincerely,

BURNETTE E. KOEBERNICK

Legal Counsel

BEK: MA