

Rachele B. Hjelmaas Sr. Legal Counsel State Capitol Des Moines, IA 50319

Phone:

E-mail:



TO: Temporary Co-Chairpersons Senator Robert Hogg, Representative Chip Baltimore, Members of the Medical Malpractice Study Committee, and Interested Persons

Rachele Hjelmaas, Senior Legal Counsel, Legislative Services Agency FROM: Medical Malpractice Study Committee—No Meeting October 29— RE: Information Submitted

Temporary Co-chairpersons Senator Hogg and Representative Baltimore have agreed that no formal meeting of the Medical Malpractice Study Committee will be held this interim. Instead, they have requested that information be submitted from interested groups or persons relating to the committee's charge, which is to consider standards and potential options for certificate-of-merit affidavits by plaintiffs and defendants in medical malpractice actions and limitations on the number of expert witnesses that may be called by both plaintiffs and defendants in such actions.

Submitted documents should be sent electronically to Rachele Hjelmaas at Rachele.Hjelmaas@legis.iowa.gov no later than Tuesday, October 29. The submitted documents will be posted on the committee's legislative website at https://www.legis.iowa.gov/Schedules/committeeDocs.aspx?GA=85&CID=924 (documents).

Temporary Co-chairpersons Senator Hogg and Representative Baltimore encourage all committee members to review and give careful consideration to all submitted documents for possible legislation during the 2014 Legislative Session.