Overview of Key Provisions of Current Law vs. SF 340

	Current Law	SF 340/HF 711
Offenses requiring registration	 Criminal offense against a minor* Aggravated offense* Sexual exploitation* Other relevant offense* Sexually violent offense* Offense comparable to any of the above in another state, or in a federal, military, tribal, or foreign court A person required to register in another state under the state's sex offender registry [* As defined in Ch. 692A] 	All offenses specified as Tier I, II, or III offenses, which includes offenses requiring registration under current law, plus certain other sexually motivated offenses such as "invasion of privacy – nudity" and "human trafficking – commercial sexual activity" if the victim is an adult (current law includes these offenses only if the victim is a minor)
Registration Duration	10 years for all offenses, except "aggravated offenses" committed in Iowa Lifetime for "aggravated offenses" committed in Iowa	10 years for all offenses, except "aggravated offenses" Lifetime for "aggravated offenses" regardless of where the offense occurred
Verification	Annual – except for sexually violent predators* Every three months for sexually violent predators* *Most "sexually violent predators" have been civilly committed so this provision has limited application.	 Annual – Tier I Offenses Every 6 Months – Tier II Offenses Every 3 Months – Tier III Offenses Tier I – sex offenses not included in Tiers II or III Tier II – generally, sex offenses punishable by more than one year incarceration, not involving force, threat of violence, or incapacitation of victim Tier III – generally, sex offenses punishable by more than one year incarceration, involving force, threat of violence, or incapacitation of victim
Residency Restriction	 Applies to any offender whose victim was a minor. A supervising officer (PO) may impose restrictions on residency on a case-by-case basis as necessary. 	 Applies to any offender who is required to be registered whose victim was a minor and who was convicted in an Iowa court of any of the following: Sex abuse 1st Sex abuse 2nd Sex abuse 3rd (except "status offenses" involving consensual sex act between offender and person under 16, if age difference between the two is four or more years (e.g. 18 and 14, 19 and 15, etc) A supervising officer (PO) may impose restrictions on residency on a case-by-case basis as necessary.
Exclusionary Zones	None, unless imposed by a supervising officer (PO)	Applies to any offender who is required to be registered whose victim was a minor – prohibition applies to: • Presence at schools w/o permission • Presence on school bus w/o permission when bus in use to transport children • Presence at child care centers w/o permission • Presence at public library w/o permission • Loitering within 300 ft of schools

		Loitering within 300 ft of child care centers
		 Loitering within 300 ft of child care centers Loitering within 300 ft of library
		Loitering at place intended primarily for children
		including playground, recreational area, swimming
		pool, beach, when minors are present
		A supervising officer (BO) may impose restrictions on
		A supervising officer (PO) may impose restrictions on presence/loitering on a case-by-case basis as necessary.
Prohibited	None, unless imposed by a supervising	Applies to any offender who is required to be registered
Employment	officer (PO)	whose victim was a minor – employment prohibited at:
		School, child care facility, library
		City, county, state fair or carnival when minors are
		present
		Children's arcade, amusement center, or similar when minors are present
		 Playgrounds, minor's recreation or sport activity areas,
		public pools, beaches.
		r · r · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
		Applies to any offender who is required to be registered –
		employment prohibited at:
		Facility providing services for dependent adults Facility provided services for dependent adul
		Events where dependent adults participate in programming
		(In addition to employment prohibition, loitering)
		at such facilities/events also prohibited)
		A supervising officer (PO) may impose restrictions on
Modification of	A conviction set aside or reversed	 employment on a case-by-case basis as necessary. A conviction set aside or reversed does not require
requirement to	does not require registration.	registration.
register	 No provision for modification. 	New "modification" established. In order to qualify to
		be granted a modification, a sex offender must:
		Not be incarcerated; and
		Be under supervision (except a person who
		offended as a juvenile but who is no longer under supervision); and
		 Have been registered for two years (in the case of a
		Tier I offense) or five years (in the case of a Tier II
		or III offense); and
		Have successfully completed all required treatment;
		and
		Have been determined to be a low risk to re-offend according to a DOC approved risk assessment; and
		Have the CBCs' "stipulation" (support of) the
		request (except a person who offended as a juvenile
		and is not under supervision).
Extended	Dispositional orders entered before	Dispositional orders entered before the juvenile attains
jurisdiction of	the juvenile attains age of 17	the age of 17 for an offense requiring registration may
juvenile offenders	terminate at age 18.Dispositional orders entered after	 be extended 18 months after the juvenile attains age 18. Dispositional orders entered after the juvenile attains
Jiidideib	- Dispositional ofucis cilicieu aliel	- Dispositional orders effected after the juveline attains
	the juvenile attains age 17 terminate	age 17 terminate 18 months after the date of disposition
	the juvenile attains age 17 terminate 18 months after the date of	age 17 terminate 18 months after the date of disposition.