## MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION, DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES, AND BRAIN INJURY SERVICES FUNDING INTERIM STUDY COMMITTEE

## **MEMBERSHIP**

Senator Amanda Ragan, Co-chair Senator James A. Seymour, Co-chair Senator Joe Bolkcom Senator Jack Hatch Senator David Johnson Senator Maggie Tinsman Mary Nelson Carl Smith Representative Dave Heaton,
Co-chair
Representative Danny Carroll
Representative Ro Foege
Representative Lisa Heddens
Representative Linda Upmeyer
Deb Schildroth
John Willey

## Tentative Agenda Tuesday, November 28, 2006 Supreme Court Chamber, State Capitol

9:30 a.m. Opening Comments

Approve Minutes of October 3, 2006, Meeting

9:40 a.m. Financial Information Revision and Review of First Meeting Observations

and Perceptions:

LSA, DHS, and ISAC staff

10:00 a.m. MH/MR/DD/BI Commission Redesign Update:

Overview of Redesign Report:

Mr. Carl Smith, Commission Chairperson

Functional Assessment and Outcomes:

Dr. Michael Flaum, University of Iowa

Ms. Susan Koch Seehase, Commission Member, Opportunity

Homes, Decorah, Iowa

Ms. Jan Heikes, Commission Member, CPC Administrator

Winneshiek and Allamakee counties

Data Systems and Case Rates:

Mr. Matt Haubrich, DHS

Property Tax Levy Equalization Proposal:

Ms. Jane Halliburton, Commission Vice-Chairperson, Story County Supervisor

- 11:30 a.m. Accountability Provisions:
  - Medicaid Program: Ms. Jennifer Vermeer, DHS
  - CPC Administrators: Connie Fett, Cedar County
  - Providers: Shelly Chandler, Iowa Association of Community Providers

## Noon Luncheon Recess

- 1:00 p.m. Reconvene
  - Process to make cost reports consistent: Ms. Debbie Johnson, DHS and Ms. Carol Logan, County Rate Information System (CRIS) and CPC Wapello County
  - Update on Data Project: Jim Overland, DHS
- 1:15 p.m. Consumer and Advocate Perspectives:
  - Key Coalition Representative
  - Ms. Cherie Clark, Linn County Coordinator, Conner Center for Independent Living (via telephone)
  - Ms. Margaret Stout, National Association for the Mentally III Iowa (NAMI-Iowa)
  - Ms. Sylvia Piper, Iowa Protection and Advocacy Services, Inc.
  - Mr. Casey Westhoff, The ARC Iowa
  - Jack Holveck, DHS Office of Consumer Affairs
- 1:55 p.m. Provider and Managed Care Organization Perspectives:
  - Ms. Shannon Strickler, Iowa Hospital Association
  - Ms. Shelly Chandler, Iowa Association of Community Providers
  - Mr. Dan Vonnahme, ISAC and Ms. Diane Diamond, DHS Targeted Case Management Representatives
- 2:35 p.m. Break
- 2:45 p.m. FY 2008 and 2009 Growth Recommendation and Distribution Formulas:
  - MH/MR/DD/BI Commission growth recommendation: Carl Smith, MH/MR/DD/BI Commission and Sue Lerdal, LSA Fiscal Services
  - Small counties with fund balance difficulties: Mr. Todd Rickert, CPC Tama and Grundy Counties and Ms. Lonnie Maguire, CPC Harrison, Monona, and Shelby Counties
  - Large counties with fund balance difficulties: Mr. Lynn Ferrell, CPC Polk County
- 3:30 p.m. Review of Issues and Options
- 3:50 p.m. Committee Discussion
- 4:30 p.m. Adjournment