## **Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs)**

## **Study Committee**

## MEMBERSHIP

Senator E. Thurman Gaskill, Temporary Co-chairperson Senator Thomas Rielly Temporary Co-chairperson Senator Joe Bolkcom Senator Thomas Courtney Senator David Johnson Senator David Miller Representative Sandra Greiner, Temporary Co-chairperson Representative Betty De Boef Representative Dolores Mertz Representative Doug Struyk Representative John Whitaker

## *Tentative Agenda* October 21, 2005 Room 22, State Capitol

Time	Speaker	Issue
10:00 a.m. to	Temporary Co-chairpersons	Election of Permanent
10:20 a.m.	Senator Gaskill and Senator Rielly	Co-chairpersons
	Representative Greiner	Adoption of Rules
		Opening Remarks
10:20 a.m. to	Mr. Fred Kirschenmann, Director	
11:00 a.m.	Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture	Background Information
11:00 a.m. to	Ms. Robin Prusner, State Entomologist	
12:00 noon	Department of Agriculture and Land	
	Stewardship	Overview of State and Federal
	Dr. John Turner, Policy Coordinator	Regulations
	Biotechnology Regulatory Services	
	United Stated Department of	
	Agriculture (USDA-BRS)	
12:00 noon to		
1:00 p.m.	Noon Recess	
1:00 p.m. to	Mr. Bill Latham, President	Perspectives from a Seed
1:40 p.m.	Latham Seed Company	Businesses
1:40 p.m. to	Mr. Ron Rosmann, Organic Farmer	Perspectives from the Organic
2:20 p.m.	(Rosmann Family Farms)	Community
2:20 p.m. to	Mr. Ken Roseboro, Editor	Issues Facing Producers of
3:00 p.m.	The Non-GMO Report	Identity-Preserved, Non-GMO,
		and Organic Crops
3:00 p.m. to	Mr. Doug Getter, Executive Director	Issues Facing the Producers of
3:40 p.m.	Iowa Biotechnology Association	Biotechnology Crops
3:40 p.m. to	Co-chairpersons and Members	Committee Discussion
4:00 p.m.		Adjournment