JUDICIAL DISTRICT AND JUDICIAL RESOURCES STUDY COMMITTEE

MEMBERSHIP

Senator Don Redfern, Representative Gene Maddox,

Cochairperson Cochairperson

Senator Eugene Fraise Representative Kurt Swaim

Dennis Anderson Julie Johnson Megan Antenucci Carmen Loveland Jackie Armstrong John McClintock Mike Bollard Rhonda Millhollin Curt Campbell Judge John Nahra Judge Stephen Clarke Randy Osborn Virginia Cobb Carolee Philpott Deborah Dice Judge David Remley Tom Drew Elisabeth Reynoldson

Jay Eaton Marty Ryan

Barbara Edmondson Judge Annette Scieszinski Shirley Faircloth H Richard Smith

Joe Holland Justice Marsha Ternus

Tentative Agenda

Tuesday, November 9, 2004 State Capitol, Supreme Court Chamber

10:00-10:30 a.m. Introductions

Fred James

- What challenges and opportunities present themselves to the judicial branch in Iowa?
- What is the National Center for State Courts (NCSC) and what is NCSC working on?

10:30-11:30 a.m. Judicial Workload Assessment

- Review of the 2002 Iowa Judicial Workload Assessment Study
- Improvements in workload assessment methodology since 2002 and the implications for reviewing judicial workload in Iowa.

11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Staff Workload Assessment

• Current methodology for court staff workload assessment (e.g., Minnesota, California).

12:30 –1:15 p.m. Lunch

1:15-2:00 p.m. Trial Court Performance Measurement

- Overview of performance measurement for courts.
- The NCSC Court Tools performance measures.

2:00-2:30 p.m. Effective practices

- How is the notion of effective practices linked to workload assessment?
- How are effective practices being used in Minnesota in diagnosing staff workload issues surfaced by the staff workload assessment?
- The NCSC's Best Practices Institute.

2:30-3:00 p.m. Wrap Up: Where Do We Go From Here?