

IOWA SKILLED WORKER AND JOB CREATION FUND STUDY COMMITTEE

LEGISLATIVE MEMBERS

Senator William A. Dotzler, Jr., Co-chairperson Representative Mary Ann Hanusa, Co-chairperson

Senator Rick Bertrand Representative Dennis M. Cohoon Senator Mark Chelgren Representative Dave Devoe Senator Brian Schoenjahn Representative Cecil Dolecheck Senator Steven J. Sodders Representative Mary Gaskill

Final Agenda

Tuesday, November 19, 2013 Room 116, State Capitol Building

10:00 a.m. Call to Order

Roll Call

Election of Co-chairpersons

Adoption of Rules Opening Remarks

10:15 a.m. Skills2Compete Coalition

Ms. Elisabeth Buck, Chief Community Impact Officer, United Way of

Central Iowa

Ms. Kerry Gumm, Director of Talent Acquisition and Diversity, The Principal

Financial Group

Dr. Matt Bruinekool, Education and Training Consultant representing

Master Builders of Iowa

10:50 a.m. Community College/Skilled Worker Programs - Overview

Dr. Barbara Crittenden, President, Southwestern Community College

Dr. Robert J. Denson, President, Des Moines Area Community College

Dr. Liang Chee Wee, President, Northeast Iowa Community College

11:50 a.m. Lunch

1:00 p.m. Community College Career and Technical Education Panel

Mr. Jeff Bodine, Executive Vice-President, Bodine Electric Company

Mr. Michael Billmeyer, North Iowa Community College student and Bodine

Electric Company employee

Mr. Randy Schofield, Tri State Director of Advanced Manufacturing Center

for Excellence, Northeast Iowa Community College

Mr. Robert Steinhauser, Career Coach, Advanced Manufacturing, Northeast Iowa Community College

Dr. Wendy Mihm-Herold, Vice President of Business and Community Solutions, Northeast Iowa Community College

1:45 p.m. Regent University Economic Development Initiatives Iowa State University:

Dr. Michael Crum, Senior Policy Adviser on Economic Development to the President

Dr. Lisa Lorenzen, Executive Director, ISU Research Foundation University of Northern Iowa:

Mr. Jerry Thiel, Director, Metal Casting Center

Mr. Dan Beenken, Director, Small Business Development Center; Manager, Advance Iowa

Mr. Randy Pilkington, Director, Business and Community Services University of Iowa:

Dr. Daniel A. Reed, Vice President for Research and Economic Development

Mr. David K. Hensley, Associate Vice President for Economic Development

2:55 p.m. Iowa Economic Development Authority

Ms. Debi Durham, Director, Iowa Economic Development Authority

Mr. Tim Whipple, General Counsel, Iowa Economic Development Authority

3:25 p.m. lowa Workforce Development – RFP and Timelines for Iowa Acts, chapter 141(30)(5) Program

Ms. Kerry Koonce, Division Administrator, Labor Market and Workforce Information Division

3:35 p.m. Discussion/Adjournment