

MENTAL HEALTH AND DISABILITY SERVICES STUDY COMMITTEE

LEGISLATIVE MEMBERS

Senator Jack Hatch, Co-chairperson Representative Renee Schulte, Co-chairperson

Senator Joe Bolkcom

Senator Joni Ernst

Senator David Johnson

Senator Amanda Ragan

Senator Pat Ward

Representative Lisa Heddens

Representative Linda J. Miller

Representative Mark D. Smith

Representative Mary Wolfe

Tentative Agenda Monday, December 19, 2011

Ola Babcock Miller Building, Second Floor, Former Library

9:30 Convene meeting

Consider minutes of November 17, 2011, meeting

Agenda overview - Steve Day as resource

Using the microphone system

9:40 Iowa Mental Health and Disability Services Redesign Final Report,

submitted by DHS on December 9, 2011, and committee discussion of

report:

Charles Palmer, Director, Department of Human Services (DHS), Rick

Shults, Division Administrator, DHS, and Sally Titus, Deputy Director,

DHS

11:00 Issues and considerations regarding financing:

Jess Benson, Legislative Services Agency (LSA), Fiscal Services

Division

John Pollak, LSA Legal Services Division Michael Duster, LSA Legal Services Division Jeff Robinson, LSA Fiscal Services Division

11:15 Committee discussion of financing

Noon Luncheon Recess

1:00 Continued discussion of financing

1:30 Discussion of regionalization recommendations

2:30 Discussion of other redesign recommendations from interim report

3:00	Break
3:15	Continued discussion of other redesign recommendations from interim report
4:00	Public comment and other discussion
4:30	Other discussion: Other recommendations Legislation - one bill or several Additional meetings of study committee Further work on legislation during the 2012 Legislative Session
4:45	Adiournment