

LAKE MACBRIDE STUDY COMMITTEE

MEMBERS

Senator Dennis Black, Co-chairperson Senator Robert E. Dvorsky Senator Sandra Greiner Representative Jeff Kaufmann, Co-chairperson Representative Mary Mascher Representative Dawn E. Pettengill

Tentative Agenda

Thursday, November 3, 2011 State Capitol, Room 103

10:00 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks

Call to Order and Roll Call Election of Co-chairpersons

10:15 a.m. Department of Natural Resources

Mr. Steve Waters, DNR Fisheries Bureau, Southeast Iowa Supervisor History of motorboat horsepower restrictions on artificial lakes in Iowa; Possible water quality and shoreline disturbance issues on Lake Macbride Mr. Aron Arthur, Conservation Officer, DNR Law Enforcement Bureau and Ms. Gwen Prentice, Parks Ranger

Enforcement of no-wake requirements on other state artificial lakes and discussion of enforcement of a no-wake requirement on Lake Macbride

Mr. Chuck Gipp, Deputy Director, DNR

History of DNR position on legislation to remove the motorboat horsepower restriction on Lake Macbride and rationale for DNR's current position on regulation of Lake Macbride

11:15 a.m. Break

11:20 a.m. Mr. Steve Becicka, Oxford

11:30 a.m. Mr. Brian Gallagher, Cedar Rapids

11:40 a.m. Mr. Bob Schlegel, Marion

11:50 a.m. Lunch Break

12:30 p.m. Mr. Bob Burns, Chair, Lake Macbride Water Sports Safety Group

12:40 p.m. Ms. Suzanne Bentler, Friends of Lake Macbride

12:50 p.m. Mr. Tom Hart, University of Iowa Sailing Club

1:00 p.m. Committee Discussion and Recommendations

2:00 p.m. Adjourn