responsibility for the discovery, location and excavation of archaeological remains. He is required to coordinate all such activities through co-operation with the state department of transportation, the state conservation commission and other state agencies, and in empowered to enter agreements and co-operative efforts with federal agencies. He is authorized to issue educational and scientific reports pertaining to his duties.

Board of Architectural Examiners

1018 Des Moines Street, Des Moines 50319 Appointed by the Governor.

MARGARET W. APOSTLE, Grinnell; term expires 1981. GEORGE E. DEININGER, Dubuque; term expires 1979. JAMES M. DUFFY, Sioux City; term expires 1979. W. DAVID FREVERT, Des Moines; term expires 1980. RICHARD F. HANSEN, Iowa City; term expires 1981. JAMES A. LYNCH, Des Moines; term expires 1981. NANCY G. McHUGH, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1980. LOIS KALLEEN, Des Moines; Executive Secretary

The law for the registration of architects and appointment of the Board of Examiners was enacted in 1927. The 61st General Assembly amended the law to provide a practice act. Anyone wishing to practice architecture in the state of Iowa shall be required to qualify under the provisions of this act. The Board of Examiners meets annually in July of each year and at various other times. Examinations are given twice each year; Qualifying Examinations (3 days), and Professional Examinations (2 days). This Board is a member of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards and collaborates closely with the council.

Iowa State Arts Council

508-10th, Des Moines 50319

ANN JORGENSEN, Chairman, Garrison; term expires 1979. ALICE BOWERS, Keokuk; term expires 1980. NANCY COOK, Spirit Lake; term expires 1979. JOAN W. CLARK, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1980. J.W. "JIM" HENRY, Sioux City; term expires 1980. FRANK JEFFREY, Mason City; term expires 1981. MARY ELLEN KIMBALL, Osceola; term expires 1981. ARNOLD E. LEVINE, Des Moines; term expires 1980. MARIBETH SCHECHTMAN, Carroll; term expires 1979. J.D. SINGER, Waterloo; term expires 1980. MARY TONE, Ottumwa; term expires 1979. DR. A. RICHARD TURNER, Grinnell; term expires 1981. JEROME W. WADIAN, Fayette; term expires 1979. GORDON WILL, Red Oak; term expires 1981. H. MEL WILLITS, Des Moines; term expires 1980. JACK E. OLDS, Des Moines: Executive Director

The 15-member state arts council was established by law June 15, 1967. James Schramm of Burlington, then chairman of the State Arts Council Advisory Committee, described the signing as "an important first step in the official recognition of the importance of the creative arts in Iowa."

The council is appointed by the Governor and charged with planning a state cultural program. The council selects a director, who must be approved by the governor and two-thirds of the Senate.

The Arts Council has reached into every county in the state to provide exhibits, performances, programs or consultation. It works with and for communities desirous of becoming involved with the arts.

The council is authorized to accept federal aid or private contributions and works in areas including music, theater, dance, painting, literature, architecture, films, photography and research.