ARCHITECTURAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Lois Kalleen, administrative secretary; 1209 East Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-5910

TWYLA J. HUMPLEBY, Coralville; term expires 1987 JEAN BALDWIN, Grundy Center; term expires 1986 GEORGE E. DEININGER, Dubuque; term expires 1985 WILLIAM DIKIS, Des Moines; term expires 1986 JAMES W. WILKINS, Des Moines; term expires 1985 KENNETH E. CARPENTER, Ames; term expires 1987 BERNARD J. KENINGER, Spencer; term expires 1987

The law for the registration of architects and appointment of the Board of Architectural Examiners was enacted in 1927. The 61st General Assembly amended the law to provide a practice act. Anyone wishing to practice architecture in the state of Iowa shall be required to qualify under the provisions of this act. The board meets annually in July and at various other times. Examinations are given once each year. The Architectural Registration Examination is administered over a period of four days. This board is a member of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards and collaborates closely with the council.

ARTS COUNCIL, IOWA STATE

Jeanann Celli, executive director; 1223 East Court Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4451 MARY HUTCHISON-TONE, Chair, Ames; term expires 1985 PATRICIA BAIN, Des Moines; term expires 1986 LARRY L. BRANDSTETTER, Red Oak; term expires 1987 MARY D. COTTINGHAM, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1986 MARK SHEARER, Vice-Chair, Columbus Junction; term expires 1986 JOHN K. HALL, Iowa City; term expires 1986 ROBIN E. MARTIN, Pella; term expires 1986 GORDON KELLENBERGER, High Amana; term expires 1985 JOSEPH GIUNTA, Waterloo; term expires 1987 JACQUELINE (JACQUE) MERRITT, Dubuque; term expires 1985 MARIA D. PEARSON, Marne; term expires 1985 MARIA D. PEARSON, Marne; term expires 1986 ROSE MARIE DRAHEIM, Clarion; term expires 1987 MARGARET F. WILSON, Ames; term expires 1985 The Iowa Arts Council, founded in 1967, promotes, with the support of state and

The lowa Arts Council, founded in 1967, promotes, with the support of state and federal funds, the practice and appreciation of the arts in Iowa through programs and grants.

Fifteen private citizens, appointed by the governor, serve non-salaried terms of three years on a board, functioning as advisers to the executive director and staff. The chair and vice chair of the board are appointed annually by the governor. Council members gather for business meetings, serve on advisory panels and represent the IAC at state, regional and national meetings.

A professional staff of 12, headed by an executive director appointed by the governor, is maintained in Des Moines to administer the programs and services of the Iowa Arts Council. The IAC administers grants-in-aid programs available to non-profit, taxexempt organizations and individual artists based in Iowa. Staff members provide consultation to arts organizations and artists, free of charge, in the use of IAC programs, local arts council planning, fiscal management and many other areas. Staff and board members also serve as speakers for workshops and seminars throughout the state.

The board of the Iowa Arts Council adopted the following mission statement in June 1980: "The mission of the Iowa Arts Council is to encourage active participation of the citizens of Iowa in aesthetic awareness and creative expression, and to create a cultural climate in which the arts may flourish."