years subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party, and its membership shall represent as wide an area as practical. Hearings are provided in the event of failure of conciliation, and orders resulting from such hearings are subject to judicial review. Commission officers are elected by the members and serve for one year starting on May 1.

## COMMERCE, DEPARTMENT OF

Roger Halvorson, director Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319 515/281-5705 www.state.ia.us/government/com

The Department of Commerce was created to coordinate and administer the various regulatory, service, and licensing functions of the state relating to the conducting of business and commerce in the state.

The chief administrative officer of the department is the director. The director shall be appointed by the governor from among those individuals who serve as heads of the divisions within the department. The appointment shall rotate among the division heads such that the division head of any one division shall not be appointed to be the director for a second year until such time as each division head has served as the director. A division head appointed to be the director shall fulfill the responsibilities and duties of the director in addition to the individual's responsibilities and duties as the head of a division. The department consists of the Office of Administrative Services and the following divisions:

Administrative Services - Martin Deaton, Chief of Services; 1918 SE Hulsizer, Ankeny 50021; 515/281-7364

Administrative Services provides data processing, personnel, payroll and shared administrative support services for the department, and coordinates the development of the department's finances.

Alcoholic Beverages Division - Jack Nystrom, administrator; 1918 S.E. Hulsizer Ave., Ankeny 50021; 515/281-7401

ROBERT L. CRAMER, Boone; term expires 2003; SHIRLEY DAGGETT, Earlham; term expires 2004; DARYL K. HENZE, Urbandale; term expires 2002; DR. SUZANNE B. MULDER, Ames; term expires 2000; DICK C. STOFFER, Chariton; term expires 2001

The Alcoholic Beverages Division was created administratively within the Department of Commerce to administer and enforce the laws of this state concerning beer, wine and alcoholic liquor. The division also has the sole power to buy, import, and sell at wholesale all alcoholic liquors in the state. Total funds generated in FY98 were in excess of \$56 million with over \$40 million being directly deposited into the state general fund. The wholesaling of liquor to package liquor stores accounted for approximately \$33 million of total transfer.

An Alcoholic Beverages Commission was created within the division and is composed of five members, not more than three of whom shall belong to the same political party. Commission members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The commission shall act as a division policy-making body and serve in an

advisory capacity to the division administrator.

The division administrator is appointed by the governor to a four-year term subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The administrator supervises the daily operations of the division and executes the policies of the division as determined by the commission. The commission may affirm, reverse, or amend all actions of the administrator, including but not limited to the following instances:

A. Purchase of alcoholic liquor for resale by the division.