be appointed by the governor from among those individuals who serve as heads of the divisions within the department. The appointment shall rotate among the division heads such that the division head of any one division shall not be appointed to be the director for a second year until such time as each division head has served as the director. A division head appointed to be the director shall fulfill the responsibilities and duties of the director in addition to the individual's responsibilities and duties as the head of a division. The department consists of the Office of Administrative Services and the following divisions:

Administrative Services

Therese Vaughan, director; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-7405

Administrative Services provides data processing, personnel, payroll and shared administrative support services for the department, and coordinates the development of the department's finances.

Alcoholic Beverages Division

Jack Nystrom, administrator; 1918 S.E. Hulsizer Ave., Ankeny 50021; 515/281-7401

ROBERT L. CRAMER, Boone; term expires 1998 SHIRLEY DAGGETT, Earlham; term expires 1999 DARYL K. HENZE, Urbandale; term expires 2002 DR. SUZANNE B. MULDER, Ames; term expires 2000 DICK C. STOFFER, Chariton; term expires 2001

The Alcoholic Beverages Division was created administratively within the Department of Commerce to administer and enforce the laws of this state concerning beer, wine and alcoholic liquor. The division also has the sole power to buy, import, and sell at wholesale all alcoholic liquors in the state. Total funds generated in FY95 were in excess of \$107 million with over \$35 million being directly deposited into the state general fund. The wholesaling of liquor to package liquor stores accounted for approximately \$28 million of total transfer.

An Alcoholic Beverages Commission was created within the division and is composed of five members, not more than three of whom shall belong to the same political party. Commission members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The commission shall act as a division policy-making body and serve in an advisory capacity to the division administrator.

The division administrator is appointed by the governor to a four-year term subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The administrator supervises the daily operations of the division and executes the policies of the division as determined by the commission. The commission may affirm, reverse, or amend all actions of the administrator, including but not limited to the following instances:

- A. Purchase of alcoholic liquor for resale by the division.
- B. The granting or refusing of liquor licenses and permits, wine permits, and beer permits and the suspension or revocation of the licenses and permits.
- C. The establishment of wholesale prices of alcoholic liquor.

The division has the sole power to appoint necessary employees; to determine the nature, form and capacity of packages kept or sold under the act, and to prescribe or approve labels and seals to be placed on same; to license, inspect, and control the manufacture of alcoholic liquors in Iowa; and to make rules and regulations necessary for carrying out the provisions of the act.

Banking Division

Michael K. Guttau, superintendent; 200 E. Grand Ave., Suite 300, Des Moines, 50309; 515/281-4014

CARMELA BROWN, Des Moines; term expires 2001 NANCY V. DUNKEL, Dyersville; term expires 2001 SANDRA T. HOWARD, Council Bluffs; term expires 2001 ROBERT THOMSON, Charles City; term expires 2001 WILLIAM MOUW, Sioux Center; term expires 2001 ALAN ZUCKERT, Des Moines; term expires 2001

The superintendent of banking and members of the state banking board are appointed by the Governor to a term of four years. The superintendent is an ex-officio member and chair of the state banking board, which acts in an advisory capacity in matters