COMMERCE, DEPARTMENT OF

Jack Nystrom, director; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-7401

The Department of Commerce was created to coordinate and administer the various regulatory, service, and licensing functions of the state relating to the conducting of business or commerce in the state.

The chief administrative officer of the department is the director. The director shall be appointed by the governor, subject to the confirmation of the Senate, and shall serve at the pleasure of the governor. The director is subject to reconfirmation after four years in office. The director shall be appointed on the basis of executive and administrative abilities but shall not have been an officer or employee of any bank, credit unions, savings and loan association, or insurance company. The department consists of the Office of Administrative Services and the following divisions:

Administrative Services

Jack Nystrom, director; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-7405

Administrative Services provides data processing, personnel, payroll and shared administrative support services for the department, and coordinates the development of the department's finances.

Alcoholic Beverages Division

James M. Kuhlman, acting administrator; 1918 S.E. Hulsizer Ave., Ankeny 50021; 515/281-7406

INGWER HANSEN, Hartley; term expires 1993 JOAN B. POE, Cedar Falls, term expires 1995 EDWARD F. SEITZINGER, Des Moines; term expires 1997 LORRAINE TATE, Ankeny; term expires 1994 WAYNE R. VENTER, Oskaloosa; term expires 1996

The Alcoholic Beverages Division was created administratively within the Department of Commerce to administer and enforce the laws of this state concerning beer and alcoholic liquor. An Alcoholic Beverages Commission was created within the division and is composed of five members, not more than three of whom shall belong to the same political party. Commission members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The commission shall act as a division policy-making body and serve in an advisory capacity to the division administrator.

The division administrator is appointed by the governor to a four-year term subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The administrator supervises the daily operations of the division and executes the policies of the division as determined by the commission. The commission may affirm, reverse, or amend all actions of the administrator, including but not limited to the following instances:

- A. Purchases of alcoholic liquor for resale by the division.
- B. The granting or refusing of liquor licenses and permits, wine permits, and beer permits and the suspension or revocation of the licenses and permits.
 - C. The establishment of wholesale prices of alcoholic liquor.

The division has sole power to buy, import, and sell at wholesale all alcoholic liquors in the state; to appoint necessary employees; to determine the nature, form, and capacity of packages kept or sold under the act, and to prescribe or approve labels and seals to be placed on same; to license, inspect, and control the manufacture of alcoholic liquors in Iowa; and to make rules and regulations necessary for carrying out the provisions of the act.

Credit Union Division

James E. Forney, superintendent; 200 E. Grand Ave., Suite 370, Des Moines 50309; 515/281-6514

WILLIAM G. SIZER, chair, Waterloo; term expires 1994.
MARCIA J. BENIT, Spirit Lake; term expires 1995
MARGARET M. CHADWELL, Urbandale; term expires 1993
JAMES J. MC CUE, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1993.
BARBARA A. NIXON, Fairfield; term expires 1995
TOM N. SARVIS, Dubuque; term expires 1994
H. IDRIS THOMAS, Mason City; term expires 1994