Alcoholic Beverages Division

Richard L. Morrell, administrator; 1918 S.E. Hulsizer Ave., Ankeny 50021; 515/281-7406

INGWER HANSEN, Hartley; term expires 1993 JOAN B. POE, Cedar Falls, term expires 1995 EDWARD F. SEITZINGER, Des Moines; term expires 1992 LORRAINE TATE, Ankeny, term expires 1993 WAYNE R. VENTER, Oskaloosa; term expires 1991

The Alcoholic Beverages Division was created administratively within the Department of Commerce to administer and enforce the laws of this state concerning beer and alcoholic liquor. An Alcoholic Beverages Commission was created within the division and is composed of five members, not more than three of whom shall belong to the same political party. Commission members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The commission shall act as a division policy-making body and serve in an advisory capacity to the division administrator.

The division administrator is appointed by the governor to a four-year term subject to confirmation by two-thirds of the Senate. The administrator supervises the daily operations of the division and executes the policies of the division as determined by the commission. The commission may affirm, reverse, or amend all actions of the administrator, including but not limited to the following instances:

Purchases of alcoholic liquor for resale by the division.

B. The granting or refusing of liquor licenses and permits, wine permits, and beer permits and the suspension or revocation of the licenses and permits.

The establishment of wholesale prices of alcoholic liquor.

The division has sole power to buy, import, and sell at wholesale all alcoholic liquors in the state; to appoint necessary employees; to determine the nature, form, and capacity of packages kept or sold under the act, and to prescribe or approve labels and seals to be placed on same; to license, inspect, and control the manufacture of alcoholic liquors in Iowa; and to make rules and regulations necessary for carrying out the provisions of the act.

Banking Division

Robert R. Rigler, superintendent of banking; 200 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines 50309; 515/281-4014

S. J. BROWNLEE, Emmetsburg; term expires 1993 JOSEPH L. FAHN, Portsmouth; term expires 1993 EDGAR H. HOLDEN, Davenport; term expires 1993 DARLYS M. HULME, Traer; term expires 1993 SARA L. READ, Cresco; term expires 1993

The superintendent of banking and members of the State Banking Board are

appointed by the governor for terms of four years.

The superintendent of banking is charged by law with the supervision and regulation of all banks, trust companies, finance companies, debt management companies, and persons engaged in the business of selling written instruments for payment or transmission of money. The superintendent of banking is an ex-officio member and chair of the State Banking Board, which acts in an advisory capacity to the superintendent in most matters.

Credit Union Division

James E. Forney, superintendent; 200 E. Grand Ave., Suite 370, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-6514

JAMES J. MC CUE, chair, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1993 MARCIA J. BENIT, Spirit Lake; term expires 1992 MARGARET CHADWELL, Urbandale; term expires 1993 BARBARA A. NIXON, Fairfield; term expires 1992 TOM N. SARVIS, Dubuque; term expires 1991 WILLIAM G. SIZER, Waterloo; term expires 1991 H. IDRIS THOMAS, Mason City; term expires 1991

The Department of Credit Unions was established January 1, 1979, by the 67th General Assembly, and was reorganized as the division of Credit Unions within the Department of Commerce by the 71st General Assembly, July 1, 1986. The super-