IPERS is an independent agency within the executive branch of state government. The General Assembly and the Governor, as creators of the plan, are the plan sponsors and determine who is covered by the plan, the benefits offered, and how the plan is funded. Public employees contribute during their working career for their own future retirements. Benefits are funded entirely by contributions from employees and their employers, and investment earnings.

## BENEFITS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

§97B.8B

7401 Register Drive, P.O. Box 9117, Des Moines 50306-9117; 515.281.0030

Name	Term Ending/Type
Len Cockman, designee of Iowa Association of School Boards, Chair	April 30, 2018
Matt Carver, designee of School Administrators of Iowa	April 30, 2019
Lowell Dauenbaugh, public member	April 30, 2020
Danny Homan, designee of American Federation of State,	
County and Municipal Employees	April 30, 2019
Bradley Hudson, designee of Iowa State Education Association	April 30, 2020
AJ Mumm, designee of Iowa State Association of Counties	April 30, 2018
Jon Thomas, designee of International Brotherhood of Teamsters	April 30, 2019
Mark Tomb, designee of Iowa League of Cities	April 30, 2020
Janet Phipps, Director, Department of Administrative Services	Statutory

## Nonvoting members

Susanna Brown, designee of State Police Officers Council Andrew Hennesy, designee of IPERS Improvement Association Steve Hoffman, designee of Iowa State Sheriffs and Deputies Association Phil Tetzloff, designee of Retired School Personnel Association Sandy Tryon, designee of Iowa Association of Community College Trustees

## INVESTMENT BOARD OF THE IOWA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM §97B.8A

7401 Register Drive, P.O. Box 9117, Des Moines 50306-9117; 515.281.0030

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Marlene Sprouse, Chair	Ottumwa	
	Clive	
Phyllis Peterson	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2022
	West Des Moines	
	Decorah	
Dennis Young	Waukee	April 30, 2019
	rer of State	
Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly		
	Senate	
Mark S. Lofgren	Muscatine	January 13, 2019
Matt McCoy	Des Moines	January 13, 2019
	House	

The IPERS Investment Board is designated the fund's trustee. The board sets investment policy and oversees the actuarial program. The seven voting members of the board include the Treasurer of State and six gubernatorial appointments confirmed by the Senate. Legislative leadership appoints the four nonvoting legislative members.

Mary Mascher ...... January 13, 2019

Dawn E. Pettengill ...... Mount Auburn ..... January 13, 2019