Division of Administrative Services

Carroll L. Bidler, director; Wallace State Office Bldg., Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3211

This division provides support services to the department in the general areas of accounting, budgeting, public information and data processing services. This division issues private detective licenses and administers the crime victim reparations program.

The division also provides data processing support to other state and local criminal justice agencies through the provision of on-line criminal justice data bases available to all criminal justice agencies via data terminals located in major police departments and county sheriffs offices. National criminal justice information is also provided through the National Crime Information Centers and the National Law Enforcement Tele-communications System.

RACING COMMISSION

Jack P. Ketterer, executive secretary; Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3986

LAVONNE MYDLAND, Rock Rapids; term expires 1987 L.C. "BUD" PIKE, Grundy Center; term expires 1985 SALLY BROWN PRICKETT, D.V.M., Cumming; term expires 1985 LAWRENCE F. SCALISE, Des Moines; term expires 1986 STEVE SOVERN, Marion; term expires 1987

Under an act of the 70th General Assembly the State Racing Commission is charged with licensing and regulating all pari-mutuel wagering facilities in the state; granting occupational licenses and regulating occupational licensees; and investigating and instigating complaints against licensees, holding hearings and imposing sanctions. The commission consists of five members appointed to staggered three year terms subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than three members of the commission shall belong to the same political party and each member of the commission shall reside in a different congressional district when appointed. Commission officers are elected by the members and serve for one year starting on July 1.

RAILWAY FINANCE AUTHORITY

Warren Dunham, secretary; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1188 WILLIAM MC GRATH, chair, Melrose; term expires 1986 GEORGE DAVISON, vice chair, Des Moines; term expires 1988 FRED MC KIM, West Bend; term expires 1990 O. P. WOODS, Bala, term expires 1990

O. R. WOODS, Palo; term expires 1990

FRANCIS KENKEL, Defiance; term expires 1988

The Iowa Railway Finance Authority was established by legislation in 1980 to provide for the financing of railway facilities. The Authority will enable the state to actively participate in preserving vital components of Iowa's rail system.

The five-member board is appointed by the governor, subject to Senate confirmation. The director of the Department of Transportation serves as secretary to the board and the Iowa Department of Transportation's staff members serve as staff for the Authority. To assure that the state follows a single transportation policy, the Authority is directed to exercise its duties and powers consistent with the policy and plans of the Iowa Transportation Commission

Significant amendments were made to the enacting legislation in 1981, expanding the capabilities of the Authority to assist in necessary railroad improvements. The powers and duties of the board now include: the power of eminent domain; the authority to acquire rail facilities; the authority to issue up to \$200 million in bonds, notes or other obligations; the capability to enter into contracts, including partnership agreements for the operation, management or use of railway facilities; the authority to extend loans for financing project costs; the authority to receive or accept loans or grants; and the authority to temporarily operate a railway facility, if necessary, to preserve vital parts of our railway system. A special railroad facility fund is administered by the Authority to finance its functions. Primary revenue sources are the delinquent railroad property tax payments and the railroad mileage tax.